Just when you thought it was safe...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
July 17th 2006
Published: July 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

.....to check your email without getting another Blog from me and yet here I am again, but fear not this really is the last one!

My six months are up already, how did that happen? Time has flown by. One question I keep getting asked is - “where has been your favourite place?” My answer would always start with that I really couldn’t say as everywhere has been so great for different reasons, but I would then proceed to waffle on about all the fantastic places I visited and adventurous activities that I took part in during my time in New Zealand and so I guess my real answer would have to be NZ. However, here are some of my highlights/most memorable moments of my six months away:

Thailand:
Surviving manic Bangkok - my first stint of lone independent travelling in a non-English speaking country!
Sea kayaking in Phi Phi
Rock climbing in Railay
Elephant trekking in Ko Lanta
Four wheel drive trip sat on the roof of a Land Rover in Ko Samui
Thai massage
Passing my Open Water Dive course in Ko Tao
Fantastic Thai food
Witnessing many many amazing sunsets!

New Zealand, North Island:
Sandboarding at Cape Reinga, even though I wussed out and only did it once!
Cycling in the Coromandel Peninsular
Carving my own jewellery from bone in Whitianga
Jet boating at Huka Falls
Skydiving at Taupo

New Zealand, South Island:
Swimming with dolphins in Kaikoura
Whale watching in Kaikoura
Sea kayaking/kayak sailing in Abel Tasman
Glacier walking on Fox Glacier
White water rafting in Queenstown

Fiji:
Sunrise hike to highest point on Waya Island
Fijian hospitality
Idyllic location

Mexico:
Learning the lingo, or trying to!
Getting a real feel for a place and the Mexican way of life by spending more than just a few days in one place
Colourful Guanajuato alive with music and festivals

Greece:
Spending time with friends
Sailing in the Southern Ionian
Totally chilled out and relaxed pace of life
Cheap, no hassle, easy travelling

Italy:
Rome - a big city and yet I loved it
Plenty of pizza, pasta, vino and gelato!
Beautiful Tuscan countryside
Italian reaction to winning World Cup matches - they’re so passionate about it!

In general:
Overcoming language barriers
Meeting fantastic people
Experiencing different cultures
Conquering fears, even if only temporarily!
Creating awesome memories
Ooh and I almost forgot……not working!

Most exhilarating moment:

Jumping out of a plane at 12,000 ft, closely followed by swimming with dolphins - thanks for sharing them both Jenn!

That’s it in a nutshell, six months over and now it’s back to reality and work! I have experienced the most amazing six months and realise that I have been very lucky to have had such a great opportunity. No doubt I’ll be boring you with my thousands of photos at some point, but it will be great to catch up with you all.

Thanks to everyone who joined me on various parts on my trip - it was great to share it with you and thanks also for all the emails I’ve received.

Hope to see/talk to you soon.

Soobee signing off x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb