First day -Heathrow Airport


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
September 25th 2012
Published: September 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well made it as far as England from Aberdeenshire in the first 24 hours (plane delayed so missed flight Jo'burg) Now flying out to Nairobi tonight and on to Malawi tomorrow morning.

Sad to say farewell to son and Sarah at Aberdeen as I won't see them for six weeks trust they they and all at home will be safe with them whilst I am away.

Heathrow is an experience it is a massive airport - a city in it own right these days, much bigger and more built up than any of our areas in the Shire. Fortunately I did not have to sleep on the floor there, BA kindly putting me up in the Sheraton for a night so I have experienced some significant luxury on my last night in the UK for a while.

Being here has brought back some past memories, as a young teacher in Slough in the 70's a friend worked as an engineer on the simulators and we used to go in at have a shot at flying them to exotic locations like Paris and Madrid. Clearly this was probably totally illicit and could never happen these days - but it was a pretty cool thing to do at the time and no one seemed to object. In reality I could not then or now fly a plane and certainly no one with any sense would trust me with such a responsibility. If anything happens to the Pilot en route anywhere I won't be leaping up offering to take over the controls.

Hopefully the next Blog will be from Malawi - when or how I am not sure just now but trust that all will come together. I am really looking forwards to arriving and meeting with everyone at M'buka where I know I will experience a very differnt way of life.

Advertisement



26th September 2012

Hope you have a wonderful time, can't wait for the next installment. xxx

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb