A whole week of adventures!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
July 3rd 2011
Published: July 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

This last week has been great. Lots of shows and new friends.

On Monday a few of us headed downtown to see Wicked (which I mostly attended just to make my older sister jealous). I've seen Wicked before but this version was my favorite. As this production doesn't have to move every couple of weeks the stage and lighting were perfect. Additionally the actress who played the Wicked Witch of the West was incredible.
Wednesday night I went out with a couple of new friends for Portugese food, a two hour walk around the city and a quick ride on a double decker bus. I've quickly discovered that the best food in England is the non-English food.
Thursday involved studying for my final Friday morning : ( Glad to be finished with US arbitration and moving into International Investment.
I went to two shows this weekend. On Friday Chicago and on Saturday Mamma Mia. Both were great and in fun neighborhoods. Student rush tickets may be the best part about London.
Today - Matt, Erin, Patrick, Jackie, and Jason went on a tour that visited Bath, Stonehedge, and Windsor Castle.
Windsor castle was beautiful and Stonehedge is mysterious and cool. My favorite spot was Bath. I am sad we only had an hour and a half as there was so much to see. We rushed through the Roman Baths in order to walk around the city for a bit. I'm sad our tour didn't include time to see the Jane Austin museum. Our tour guide was great and gave us tons of fun facts and information including that cream tea is not tea with cream but is actually stones with jam and a rich special type of cream which is delicious and probably dangerous for your arteries in regular doses.

This upcoming week should be great. I really want to go to the Sherlock Holmes museum considering that his wife's name was Mary Russell. Additionally, we are going to try to do some of the typical London tourist attractions like the London Tower and Buckingham Palace before we leave Friday for Paris for the weekend!! I can't believe we only have three weeks left.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Bridge in BathBridge in Bath
Bridge in Bath

This bridge is apparently famous as only two other bridges exist in its style where the stores are built into the bridge.


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb