Southampton to Waterloo


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
March 3rd 2005
Published: March 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi Bloggers

This is my first blog. I just recently heard about it in fact my other half insisted I must visit this site and so I did and here we go. I now realise his real intentions to introduce me to the Travelblog. Rather than he alone suffering from may ritualistic narrations of my travel encounters he prefers to let all others suffer as much.

I have noted that there is no provision for chosing Southampton or Hampshire as the region of interest for travel. May be we downsouth keep things to ourselves.

Well I travelled again today as usual but not at my usual time (usual time to catch the train being 6-35 to 7.15).
I felt rather peculiar when I came to the platform.. the crowd was different and I was a stranger to that crowd. In stead of the laptop carrying white collared (LCWC) men and women of 30-60 age group that dominate the morning hours I was surrounded by 18-23 year olds who did not mind chatting aloud and giggling and occasionally adding an F word for flavour. You do that in my regular trains and see how all the LCWCs around you want to disown you instantly.

These new blue rains introduced by the Southwest trains instead of the OLD SLAM BANG DOOR (SBDs) ones are frighteningly new and crisp and too bright as yet the lightcovers have not accumulated the soothing blanket of dust. The train was full and so I had the honour of being right opposite the toilet. Why on earth someone should design a new train in such a way that the toilet door opens to offer 4 passengers complete interior view? If you are the toilet visitor you do not realy want to stare into 4 pairs of eyes who are trying to avoid any eye contact as you fumble with the door and worrying whether you are zipped up or not!

The cold weather clearly had taken its toll and after listening to the door open and close, the flush and the papers and the door again about a dozen time three out of us (four) gave up the restrictive seats and wandered off to find a bit quiet spot. Within few minutes the train reached Waterloo I tumbled out and troted off to catch the next train.

Bye for now

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb