Orientation!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
September 23rd 2009
Published: October 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

So today Mommy left in the morning and I went off to school for orientation. It was a lot of fun seeing the "uni" and meeting new people, even though they were all Americans. I also got to check out Jess’s dorm room on campus, which is where I would have lived if I wasn’t staying with Erin. To say it like the english, the rooms are absolute rubbish. They are small and the toilettes and showers are not even in the same room. I’m so glad I have a home to live in rather than a strange room with bedding that feels foreign.

In the afternoon we checked out the “Fresher’s Fayre” which is the London version of the Involvement Fair for all the clubs and societies at City. I found a women’s football (soccer) team and a ski/snowboard trip to do after exams in the French Alps so I am extremely excited for the semester to start. However, I discovered that each class is only given once per week and 2 pairs of my approved classes are given on the same day at the same time leaving me with only 2 classes that I can take. This is a problem, but I’ll figure it out tomorrow.

The end of orientation was the best part: wine and cheese. Never in this world would I have thought that I would be served alcohol on school property, and for free for that matter. The funniest part was that you had to pay for the non-alcoholic drinks and didn’t for the wine. Wow.
In the evening I met up with Erin and her friends for a show at the theatre called Speaking in Tongues, which was also quite different from the shows I had seen in the past week because it was all dialogue and no singing/dancing. It was really good, nonetheless. It dove really deep into the complexities of relationships and affairs and it was really interesting. It’s amazing how easy it is to see a show or some other type of entertainment during the week because everything is so close and within reach. I love living in London!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1156s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb