So You Think You Speak English?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
November 7th 2008
Published: November 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Have I told you that I'm also taking an English course for extra credit? Not really, but I may as well be taking a class; I add a new word or phrase almost every day. Here is a little dictionary I have compiled thus far of all the British lingo I have learned.


American English vs. British English

-aluminum = aluminium
-angry/sad/regretful = gutted
-apartment = flat
-bathroom = toilet/loo
-buck (dollar) = quid
-call = ring
-cell phone = mobile phone
-cigarette = fag

People don’t buy pre-made cigarettes. They just carry little bags of the stuff and make them on the spot. I see it everywhere; at first I thought they didn’t have regular boxed cigarettes here until I asked one of my flatmates who said that they do but nobody buys them because they are expensive. And it’s called “rolling a fag,” which, despite my eagerness to learn/speak British English, I cannot bring myself to say aloud.

-college = university (“school” means high school)
-college entrance exams = "A-levels"
-comforter = duvet
-cookie = digestive
-costume party = fancy dress

Upon arrival at UEA, I checked out the campus events, and there
three of my favorite British girlsthree of my favorite British girlsthree of my favorite British girls

Josie, Emily, and Fuchsia
was a whole list with “Fancy Dress” in large print at the top. There were about 12 different events with that label, and I thought, Wow England is really serious about dressing up. I started getting worried about not having brought 12 nice dresses, but then I found out that “Fancy Dress” doesn’t actually mean the cocktail party kind of fancy. It's actually just a different theme-party every week. The day of the first Fancy Dress night, one of my flatmates asked me if I had an outfit. I was like, "Yeah, I have a few things to choose from!" She gave me an odd look and said, "Wow, you have things like that just laying around? You brought them from America??" I was so puzzled, like why is it so weird that I have a few dresses in my closet? Luckily, I found out before the party that the night was themed 999 Emergency Services (999 is the equivalent of America's 911 - think cops and robbers costumes), not cocktail dress night...

-crazy person = nutter
-drunk = pissed
-elevator = lift
-eraser = rubber
-fast food = take-away
-French fries = chips
-friend = mate
-garbage = rubbish

This is also commonly used as an indignant exclamatory, like, “Well, that’s just rubbish!” or meant as an insult, as in, “Your brain is rubbish, my dear.” (Both examples heard in a conversation between two fellow students in one of my classes).

-garters = stockings
-H = pronounced "haytch" not "aytch"
-isn't it? = innit?
-line up = queue

Cutting in line is the #1 worst sin. Ever. My friends here were completely appalled when I told them that I often get away with squeezing past people in lines and crowds back home because I am small, impatient, and sneaky. They assured me that it will not work here, hands down. Five minutes after this conversation, I witnessed a girl apologize profusely for accidentally placing herself in front of someone else in line. It was pretty dramatic.

-lots = loads
-mail = post
-man = bloke
-oatmeal = porridge
-oh my gosh = oh my days
-pants = trousers

You would think that, in a country where it is gray and/or rainy 80% of the time, people would wear bright, happy colors to offset the drabness. Incorrect. Black and gray clothing is not only popular, it is a must. Bright clothing is sort of considered inappropriate (except during Fancy Dress parties, of course). I really miss orange, yellow, and red. And bright blue! Oh, to see bright blue again.

-paper towels = kitchen roll
-policeman = copper
-potato chips = crisps
-professor = lecturer
-round-trip ticket = return ticket

I visited UEA’s Travel Shop to seek advice. The poor lady at the desk; I didn’t realize that “return ticket” means I have a ticket to and fro, so I kept persisting, Well thanks, but I also need a ticket to get there in the first place….

-semester = term
-soccer = football
-stove = hob
-suspenders = braces (suspenders are considered the things that hold up garters)
-sweater = jumper

One of my British friends kept gushing once about how ‘awfully gorgeous’ the new jumpers were at H&M. The whole time, I thought she was talking about overalls, which - let’s be honest - just don’t look flattering on most people. I must have been looking at her quite peculiarly because finally she asked me if I knew what jumpers are. She laughed when I guessed, “Overall bibs…?” Oh, and since we’re on the topic, “shirt” is only used when referring to a collared shirt and “top” is used for all other shirts (but not a sweater because that’s a jumper). Oy!

-underwear = knickers
-wonderful! = magic!/wizard!/ace!/quality!/wicked!/immense!
-Z = pronounced "zed" not "zee"

Instead of saying, "I gotta catch up on some z's, people say, "I gotta catch up on zeds!"



And some more observations of other social occurrences:

*Girls wear heels all the time, everywhere. I fit right in! Although, it's ironic because I now often wear flats because I have to walk a lot, especially while traveling.

*In America, it is common for students to roll out of bed and stumble to class in sweatpants/PJ bottoms and a t-shirt, especially for 8 am labs. In England, going to class is like stepping onto a fashion show runway, no matter what time of day it is. People at home say that I’m always well put-together….Well, imagine versions of me in all my coordinated glory running around everywhere, except take it about five notches up. People are extremely fashion-conscious and gorgeous all the time here.

*Music is kind of the same as back in the states. Besides the Ting Tings (their hit ‘Great DJ’ is pretty catchy and is played in clubs quite a bit- check it out), I haven’t really discovered any new British bands that I've fallen in love with.

*I’m not really sure if it’s a British thing, but in my science labs, I kind of had a hard time at first getting used to their lab lingo. For example, for “mg/mL,” instead of actually saying “milligrams per milliliter,” people would say “migs per mill.” The first time I heard that, I stared at my lab prof and said, “Migs…?” and he gave me a concerned look like he was wondering if I belonged in the lab and said, “yes…milligrams….” I must have looked like a complete fool.

*Instead of “What’s up?” or “How are ya?” my British friends greet me by saying either, "Are you okay?" or “Are you all right?” (pronounced as a funny/endearing drawl, like “Y'orroy’?”), to which an appropriate response would be something like, “I’m really well, and you?” The first time one of my classmates asked me "Hey Huong, y'orroy'?", I gave him an odd look and said, “Yeah, I’m fine,
5 am5 am5 am

everyone glued to the screen
why?” and he was like, “Oh. Just thought I’d ask…” I must have seemed like such a grump!

*The elections were incredible. I was sad about not being in America for the first election that I truly cared about, but the hype and excitement here was probably just as crazy as back home. I was astounded by the level of interest in American politics and how politically savvy British students are. The pub was packed with students Tuesday night/Wednesday morning to watch the BBC/CNN coverage of the results. I wasn't surprised to see so many Americans pulling all-nighters, but it was amazing to see how much the Brits cared about the results as well. And what was even cooler was that it really wasn't just British and American students. There were students from all over the world; it was like Obama was being welcomed to the White House by the whole world, not just the USA. People were already nuts as the polls came in favoring Obama, but when the screen flashed the news that he was officially the President Elect, the pub burst into pure mayhem. Everyone was so happy and emotional and completely insane with feelings of YES WE CAN. I will never forget the night I watched the US elections in an English pub.

*The stereotype that the Brits have really bad teeth has been quite unjustified from my observations so far. Their teeth are really not bad, at least not in my generation (the only crooked teeth that I have seen thus far have belonged to older men). I guess I'm just really enjoying myself and loving every minute here, but I get complimented so much about my smile - and at such random times, like on the escalators at the tube station or in line simply buying a sandwich - that sometimes I wonder if I look awfully goofy smiling everywhere I go. I have to admit that I have been taking advantage of my pearly whites, though, and it’s rather funny because not only do people gladly help me when I ask for directions or to help carry things for me, they will actually thank me for brightening their day. It’s a really great deal. Now, if only I could figure out how to make them forgive me for cutting in line every now and then…


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

not Spaghetti-O's...not Spaghetti-O's...
not Spaghetti-O's...

Spaghetti Hoops.
I bump into these two blokes at the pub a lotI bump into these two blokes at the pub a lot
I bump into these two blokes at the pub a lot

they call me their favorite American girl
NataliaNatalia
Natalia

upcoming British singer at LCR r&b Night


7th November 2008

Hahaha! Such a funny post! Cookie = digestive. Is that cookie like dessert, or cookie like internet bread crumbs on your computer? Either way, that's weird. Also, why are you almost always on the far right in the pictures? My theory is that, after your pick-pocketing experience, you've started packing heat and you need fast access to your piece. Yes?
7th November 2008

hi
these are cool pics, we are really enjoying the new 'language' ur learning, tis cool... chah.
8th November 2008

hi
thuong u qua i will hun u much con gai cua me

Tot: 0.437s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb