Bournemouth...the coast of England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
August 29th 2008
Published: September 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was the day that Mitch has been waiting for…the air show at Bournemouth. I have to admit I was not that excited for it when we were in the states, but there is something about being in England…you are excited for anything and everything, even if that means sitting in a pile of sand straining your neck to watch airplanes fly over your head for 5 hours. For me, it is almost worth it just because of Mitch’s reaction. They are priceless. Anytime he hears the deep thwop thwop thwop of a plane he runs out of whatever shop or street we are in, dodging cars and small children, just to get a glimpse of the aircraft. It is really funny. We got an adorable little hostel about a 30-minute walk from the actual beach where the show is. The B&B is so cute, and it is just right for our little trip. We dropped of our luggage as fast we could and literally ran to the beach because Mitch was so excited. The beach was filled with people, and the coastline was beautiful. It was unlike anything I had ever seen as the cliffs and the jutting of the land were grass…there were no big buildings or visible roads. It was all-natural, and the grass was in different colors and looked like different patches. It was beautiful. The first half of the afternoon was filled with these crazy planes whizzing right above our heads. I had to tell Mitch to calm down a few times because I was afraid he was going to pop. There were big jets flying by at hundreds of miles an hour, perhaps the coolest plane I thought was the one with the women on the wings. There were these acrobatic women standing on the wings of the plane as it flew by at two hundred miles an hour. I’ll admit, I even got a little excited for that one. They did these really cool acrobatic and graceful moves while the plane was going by, their bodies withstanding over 200 mile an hour winds and over 3 G’s. It was pretty amazing. The air show ended around three, and Mitch and I realized that we had the rest of the day to do whatever we wanted. Nice feeling. We thrive under conditions such as those. We went to shops and looked at the cool clothes and tried on jacket and such that we couldn’t afford. Oh my gosh, how could I forget this. On the way up from the beach there was this perfume shop that was offering sales and specials. Anyone who knows Mitch knows that he is obsessed with colognes. Well, of course we had to stop. The salesman was offering some deal where if you pay 20 pounds for the women’s package which included 5 different nice spelling perfumes, you get the men’s bag free which also had 5 nice colognes in them. Well, at the time, Mitch had no cash, thank the good lord. He was literally dying; he tried everything he could to talk me into lending him 20 pounds to get the colognes. He nuzzled in my neck, gave me the cute face..you name it, he did. However, I was NOT about to carry around 5 stupid perfumes that I don’t even want just because it was such a “good deal”. It was quite a moment in our relationship. A hilarious one I will never forget because he literally cried about not buying them for the next four hours. It was classic. After the perfume incident, we went to these awesome gardens where there were a bunch of shops, foods, and concerts going on. It was really fun. We enjoyed a mediocre dinner with a beautiful view of the beach. By the time we walked the whole way home (as I refused to get a taxi because we are trying to conserve our money as Mitch seems to forget, aka: PERFUMES) we were freaking exhausted. I can’t even tell you how excited I was to go to the air show AGAIN the next day…or I guess I should say, how excited Mitch was…so excited that we he insisted we arrive at the beach an hour and a half before the actual show starts. Oh boy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb