9,000 Miles in 4 days


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
October 23rd 2007
Published: January 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

9000 miles in 5 days



I had to abandon Rob in north Thailand and let him venture on into Laos on his own. I had other fish to fry. As some of you may know, I have just graduated from university and it was time to cap it all off with one great big champagne fest (aka graduation ceremony).

This may seem a little extravagant - heading back to the UK from Thailand just to graduate, but I felt it would be a nice way to round off 21 years in education as well as get some lovely pics of me in a robe and seeing the family.

Essentially this little expedition involved a flight from Chiang Rai to Bangkok, waiting a few hours, then to Abu Dhabi for another 5 hour wait, then to Heathrow. From there its only an hour or so on the tube into central London where I spent the night in a hotel. EASY.

Next day was graduation, several cups of coffee in a vain jet-lag fight, lots of pictures, smiling faces, long speeches, big lunch, robe wearing and senseless banter. I think I may have also broken the world record for
English Family RobinsonEnglish Family RobinsonEnglish Family Robinson

That old gang of hoodlums
repeated conversations:

"How are you...?"
"What are you up to...?"
"I'm Travelling..."
"Do you have a job..."

etc.

Clinging on to the last hours of student-hood there was obviously a large post graduation bash to attend requiring one more night / morning in a hotel.

From there is was just a simple exercise in getting the tube back to Heathrow, flying to Abu Dhabi, Singapore, Bangkok and finally to Vientianne in southern Laos.

Easy peasy... I did get to watch about 79 films though, so that was good I guess.

I probably need to plant some trees now. All in all I'm now on to circa 30,000 miles for this little trip. Insert guilty conscience here!




See y'all next time



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Everybody loves a partyEverybody loves a party
Everybody loves a party

Either that or they all heard I was coming...
Fellow GraduandsFellow Graduands
Fellow Graduands

Probably not the finest examples
He never thought he would make itHe never thought he would make it
He never thought he would make it

To be honest, none of us did


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb