Day 6 - Glastonbury - Wootton Bassett


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Wiltshire » Wootton Bassett
April 26th 2014
Published: May 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Well in the end quite a good night’s rest - although climbing down from a bunk in the dark to go to the toilet without waking all the other inhabitants in the room, is not the easiest thing in the world. I think I managed it though - 2 of them still slept through and the one that did call out – didn’t remember it in the morning!!!



In the morning I met inhabitant number 4, another huge character who was retired and from Yorkshire but had a similar interest in spiritual things. In short they were 3 very interesting fellows even in the short time I spoke to them – they were all there soaking up the spiritualism of Glastonbury, which is definitely worth a revisit. I think 1 of them was spending the day with a friendly dragon lady (there are friendly and not so friendly dragons and elves around us all the time), the other was off to the Tor to do research, the tall American I never saw again – me I was back on the road – this time my last day of this leg to lead me home.



So about 9.30am I emerge from the hostel past a Saturday morning market onto the road to Shepton Mallett. A few Guinness cobwebs to get rid of and that they did by the time I arrived at Shepton Mallett – just in time to meet my first fellow rider – Richard Price.



Richard is a friend of mine for about 25 years now (I remember reading articles etc where that was said when I was younger and never thinking that would happen to me – but despite my best efforts it seems to have !!!). Anyway we met first in London but really in Sydney and now he is in London again we see each other occasionally.



In short though a good ride through Somerset and Wiltshire back to humble Wootton Bassett. It started with a medium hill as soon as we left Shepton Mallett and I think Richard was surprised I gave up so easily and walked up, pushing my bike!! Conversation ensued as to whether I was using my gears correctly – of course I stood my ground and said I am – later experience showed me though I was wrong – for some reason I had only been making use of the big gear cog on the bike, not making use of the more detailed cog !!! Anyway the main thing was I didn’t immediately submit, held my ground in public and then when I had some quiet moments reviewed my stance and changed my position accordingly! From roughly then on my gear usage was much more apt.



We got rained on in a brief but strong storm and just when it looked like it was set in for the day out came the sun and the run home was smooth and the weather good. The scenery was good without being breath-taking but still good to be out on the road eating the miles up and Richards route planning was excellent and comforting.



It was strangely surprising to stumble across Trowbridge and then of course from then on in the territory was all familiar. We picked up pace here and after a lunch in nearby Melksham arrived surprisingly early at Wootton Bassett – rolling in about 4pm on a lovely sunny afternoon. It felt real good as we rolled down the hill and despite trying hard to I couldn’t make it up the big hill past the infant’s school into the High Street.



My first view of people familiar was my boy Oliver and Raisham larking about in the path ahead – was it them? Yes it was along with Louise and a few others in the road – I think with flags – they were expecting us to cycle past a la ''Tour De France style'' so I think it might have been a bit of a disappointment that we were pushing our bikes along the pavement !! Oh well still very good to see them and the welcome home was good but then onto the 5 bells pub and blimey maybe 30-40 adults and children all there to welcome us home. Astonishing!! Really Astonishing!!!



I took Richard into town to catch his train back to ''the smoke'' – then back to the 5 bells to tell people how good it has been to date and any other tales I could think of. A rest though for just over a week and good to be home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb