Salisbury, England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Wiltshire » Salisbury
November 23rd 2011
Published: November 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today's mission was to check out one of Britain's most famous world heritage site, if not the most famous. It's one of those monuments that marks the beginning of architecture. It's impressive for a bunch of stones in the ground. Can you guess what it is? That's right; The Stonehenge!

I headed to Salisbury by train from Bath. It was only a one hour journey. Once I got there, I got to my hostel and stored my luggage, then headed to the bus station to embark on the Stonehenge tour.

And so there I was, being taken nine miles to the north, to one of the oldest man-made monuments known to man. It's not a site to spend a great deal of time at, but worth visiting for what it is, and getting a few pictures here and there. I had an hour to the place, but I only spent half of that within the site. For the other half, I grabbed some stew to eat, and waited for the bus back to Salisbury.

But before returning, we stopped by the Old Sarum; another ancient site that resembled that of a castle. One that you can only see the walls of, withered down. Still a peaceful and quiet area.

It was back to the YHA hostel. I wouldn't recommend YHA to anyone, as it's expensive, and pretty much everything is chargeable, including the internet. I would try to avoid it wherever possible.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb