IN TO ENGLAND


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Yorkshire
September 5th 2012
Published: September 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

David at the barbieDavid at the barbieDavid at the barbie

One of the non-rainy days when we could have a barbecue
ENGLAND - THE FOOD PART

Everyone knows (and I hope people won’t take this the wrong way) that England is not famous for its food….

BUT….
Everything they have is comfort food - right up MY alley!

THEN...
After a week I was DYING for something green on my plate…

I started analyzing everything that I had been eating, and it seems there was a LOT of bread involved. The best thing they can make? YORKSHIRE PUDDING!!!

Before Kevin and I left, he got online and got stuck into Living Social, GrabOne and GroupOn, websites that specialize in, among other things, meal packages for virtually half-price. He managed to pick up a couple for Leeds and environs and they really have been quite good. I highly recommend that if you are traveling, or even if you are staying at home, check out the websites for these companies and pick up a couple of deals. We also have some for France which we are really looking forward to!

Here are a couple of things we have been eating…Indian (well, actually, Pakistani) food, pub fare, international buffet (yep…). Kevin thinks that Indian food in England is the
Baked potato with cheeseBaked potato with cheeseBaked potato with cheese

The ultimate comfort food, perfect on a rainy Leeds day
closest to Indian food in India, and since he has been to both places I am going to back him on this. It certainly is different to New Zealand and America. While in London we went to an Indian restaurant which was every enjoyable. I had Chicken Tikka Masala, rice and naan. It was lovely. This week, we went to a “chain” Indian restaurant in the York area, Jinnah. Our Deal consisted of a starter and main for two people. I had a seekh kebab starter and lamb tikka masala, while Kevin had a chicken chuta (not sure on spelling, or what it consisted of besides chicken) and a beef handi as a main. His was spicy, mine was mild, and both were very nice. The naan bread was VERY good, and huge! One was sufficient for the two of us. We then saw one brought to a table, hanging on a hook, about 18” long, and found out that was the family naan. I was amazed!

The night we went for the International Buffet was an experience. I haven’t been to a buffet in a long time. I thought it best to pace myself…Bear in mind, I am
Buffet dessert melangeBuffet dessert melangeBuffet dessert melange

Small bites of creme brulee, yogurt, jello, fruit and pavlova
STILL trying to keep my weight down. The highlight at that meal was the individual Yorkshire Pudding, with gravy, and the roast turkey. I also liked my potstickers, tabouli, chocolate cake and barbecued chicken. I had lots of bits of things and it was a good way to sample, but we wouldn’t recommend it again. The name of the restaurant, should you care to avoid, is RED HOT WORLD BUFFET, and is a chain around the area.

When we went to the cheese factory on our day trip, I had a rarebit (not Welsh) which was a real treat. The cheese was very flavorful and I had a bit of salad with it. For dessert I had a merengue with fresh berries on it. I told Kevin that so far this has been my favorite meal. The rarebit is definitely English - Kevin keeps reminding me it is only cheese on toast. But then again a croque messieur is only a ham and cheese sandwich…

The other night Ann, Dave, Kevin and I went to Phantom of the Opera in Leeds, but stopped for dinner at “Brown’s” beforehand. Since I had been eating so much I opted for
Pavlova with FruitPavlova with FruitPavlova with Fruit

My personal favorite so far, but it's early days yet...
just a main, which was Chicken Breast with pesto and cheese, served with a side salad. Ah, greenery on the plate!!! The chicken was lovely and, although there were too many onions in the salad, it was refreshing.

Saturday, we took Mavis out to Ilkley, a lovely spa town in the Yorkshire moors. It was way too crowded in town so we headed up the road and found a lovely hotel/restaurant called “The Cow and Calf”, with a view of the rock formation of the same name. We all partook of the pris-fixe meal - £6 for 1 course, an additional £ 2 for a second and third course. I had a Caesar Salad (back to the greens) and apple fritters with vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce for dessert. Kevin had fried mushrooms as a starter and a warm pork pie. I enjoyed my salad - it was nice to not be eating bread - and apple fritters are so good.

I must say, the English give REALLY GOOD desserts!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Beef tikka masala and nasnBeef tikka masala and nasn
Beef tikka masala and nasn

This naan bread measured about 15 inches long.


Tot: 0.384s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb