Sugarwell Court


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Yorkshire » Leeds
January 21st 2009
Published: January 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Taxi drive to Sugarwell


<span><span>Arrival in Leeds, Part II

<span> Leeds Met University offers students a Meet and Greet service. Basically, I get to ride in a taxi to my flat (dorm/apartment thingies) for free. I knew taxis had a reputation for being scary. I also knew that I was likely to get more scared than I normally would, so I said to myself, “Jade, he’s going to drive on the left side of the road. Don’t freak out!” While I was thinking this, he pulled into the road. Since he didn’t turn immediately, I assumed we were making a left turn. He suddenly swerved to the right, and I about had a heart attack. It took me a few seconds to realize that driving on the left side of the road meant that right turns were long and left turns were short. While I was still chuckling about this, we went up a narrow road and I saw a car coming at us. My immediate thought was that if we didn’t pull over to the far right of the road, we were going to crash. Why wasn’t the driver pulling over to the right?! Oh yeah – left side of the road. It makes everything feel wrong.


<span>So I finally pull in to my flat at Sugarwell Court. After fumbling around with the weird sensor key they gave me, I got into my room. I put my stuff down and glanced at the packet that the man who let me in gave me. Stapled on the outside was a note that I had to attend a meeting at 6:30 pm. It was 7:00. I was at the meeting’s last 15 minutes, and then asked one of the guys the only really important question: How do I get Internet? As you can tell, I got on. I assured my parents with an email that I wasn’t dead, and then typed up these two posts. My battery is at 75%, but I’m going to conserve energy so I can avoid plugging it in as long as possible. A friend was kind enough to give me an adapter, but I’m still terrified something will go wrong and my computer will fry. Well, cheerio

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb