The End of Week 1


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Coventry
January 13th 2012
Published: January 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So my first week in England is almost done and I can say that I'm happy about it. After days of running around to Tesco and random buildings across campus trying to get all the administrative stuff done, I am glad that all the paperwork is done (mostly).

I'll be taking the following classes:


• Latin America: Themes and Problems
• Empire and Aftermath
• Modern Mexico: 1810-present
• Galleons and Caravans: Trade from 1300-1800






I've been to a lecture for Mexico and seminars for Mexico and Latin America. All three things were pretty interesting and the professors were both very accommadating. I've got quite a bit of reading to do to catch up, but it shouldn't be much of a problem.

As for the administrative stuff, I'd rather drink coffee than see another form. I went to the University House four days in a row getting stuff sorted out. My online stuff wouldn't cooperate and then I had to do a paper enrollment which meant that I had to wait a day to do other stuff...I'm shutting up now because IT'S OVER!

The weather was beautiful this week. It averaged a high of about 50 degrees Farenheight each day, the sun came out to play everyday (I even needed sunglasses), and it only rained once, briefly and in the morning before I left. The sunsets, which I can see out my window, are absolutely gorgeous.

Something random I noticed: the cars are so much smaller here. Their vans are almost half the size of some of the ones at home.

I tried my first Indian dish from one of the cafes on campus and it was very good. It was spicy at first, but after awhile I just got used to it. Hopefully I'll try the Dirty Duck Pub this weekend.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb