I dont think I could be more in love with my flatmates.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Coventry
February 25th 2007
Published: February 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Thursdays LOW: Hearing the professor complain about people coming in late.
Thursdays HIGH: Getting the package!!
Fridays LOW: Realizing that the OC totally screwed up the series finale.
Fridays HIGH: Probably finding out I can disenroll from that class, and watching those videos online.
Saturdays LOW: Sitting in gum.
Saturdays HIGH: Just hanging out with everyone.
Sundays LOW: Reading this stupid article for film!
Sundays HIGH: A relaxing afternoon off.
So on Wednesday night I stayed up late talking to mom and figuring out work for classes. Ive been debating that Mexico class and talking to mom made me feel a lot better about it. She eased my worries about my camera and about getting out of the class so I went to bed feeling a lot better than I had felt earlier. I tried to get to sleep at a decent hour, but ended up watching Romeo and Juliet and couldnt fall asleep until like 6 or 7am. Either way, I was exhausted for the morning, and it was a struggle to get up for my business class. I finally got to class and ended up being a couple minutes late. This boy next to me helped me out by getting a copy of the powerpoint and it shocked me that someone had actually gone out of their way to help me. Before this, it has seemed that, contrary to what I expected, Americans are generally nicer and more helpful. So this boy helped me regain faith in the English...until he started talking and I realized he was American. So there that is. Anyways, a few minutes after I got in, some other people came into the class and the professor stopped and was like "Does anyone else find it extremely distracting when someone comes in late?" The poor kid who came in. The professor went on for a minute stressing that everyone should get to his class on time. However, Ive noticed that a lot of professors dont let you out on time and run until the next class begins, so its just not possible in some cases. Another student came in a few minutes after his rant, so he proceeded to stop and wait for her to take a seat. Thats just discouraging. Now, anyone who is running late from their previous class is going to think twice about even showing up to his lecture, and that just shouldnt be the case. Needless to say, the whole thing really bothered me. Anyways, after class, I came back to the flat to find a card saying that I had a package to pick up! I watched a couple shows, and then headed out to pick up the package, hoping that it was the one mom had sent. On the way, I stopped at the history office to discuss the possibility of dropping the class and they told me that as long as it was alright with UConn that it was alright for them. I finally got to the package pick up and the box was enormous. I felt like a total tool walking back to the flat with it. But I didnt care too much bc I was just so excited to finally get it. I could barely contain myself when I got back, opened it. It had everything I had asked for...and then some. Everything from my comforter and pillow case, favorite gum, some socks, headphones, blank cds, Valentines Day things, oreos, reeces pb cups, m&ms, make-up, and a bunch of other things. I was over the moon! After I opened the package, I headed to Tesco to pick up groceries for the dinner I was preparing. When I got back, I started cooking. I made cream cheese, sundried tomato and basil stuffed chicken, carmalized carrots, mashed potatos (though they came out looking like goo), and yorkshire puddings. It was really yummy, so I was proud. But our oven is so busted here and is missing the seal, so it took a long time to cook, and at one point, I had to sit on the floor against the oven to keep it shut. Anyways, after dinner, we all just hung out, I think we played cards and watched TV. Oh, and I decided to put the box to good use, so I drew a penis in the bottom of it, and wrte "Dick in a Box" and made the boys look inside. (http://youtube.com/watch?v=1dmVU08zVpA) Haha. I dont think weve stopped singing the Dick in a Box song all week. It was so weird, bc earlier in the week, right after I showed the boys the video on YouTube, Jonny played this song hed never actually listened to, and I swear it sounds exactly like the chorus is singing the Dick in a Box video. Im in stiches everytime we listen to it. Anyways, eventually everyone went off to bed, and I watched Scrubs.
On Friday, I got up, made lunch and hung out in the kitchen. I called UConn to discuss my class ordeal, and Dr. Lamb said that she approved dropping the class, so that is a huge weight off my shoulders. For the rest of the afternoon I just hung out, played cards and listened to music. After Daniel made dinner, we all just chilled and played setback. I love that game. A few of the guys went to see the band Ash at the Union and Jonny, Daniel and I watched the newest eipsode of Scrubs and the last episode of the OC...it sucked. It was absolutely horrible. Once the other guys came back, they played pro-evo and Peter helped us all get DC++ working on our computers. It was not easy, but I finally got it working and was thrilled. After hearing about it since Ive gotten here, the guys put on R. Kellys 40 minute long music video "In the Closet". Its hilarious, and if you havent seen it, you need to. Eventually, everyone went to bed, and I stayed in the kitchen playing with DC++ and watching these videos online that Jonny and his brothers made. They were absolutely hilarious. If anyone wants the links, just ask me. Eventually, I went back to my room and watched Friends and Scrubs and finally passed out once the sun started coming up.
I set my alarm to wake me up around 1215 on Saturday so that I didnt waste the whole day. When I woke up around 1015am I was really happy because I was wide awake after only having 3 hours of sleep. I decided to go back to sleep for a couple hours and got up around 1230. I started to get ready and sat back down on my bed and looked at my computer to see the clock say that it was 3pm!! AHH. I had wasted the whole day sleeping. After the whole drowned phone incident, my phone hasnt really held a charge or I guess kept the time, so it had set itself back like 15 hours. I was so mad!! I had been so proud to actually not waste the day with my nocturnal sleeping habits, but I had been wrong. Anyways, I got ready and made some lunch. No one was around except for Peter, it was really surreal. We figured that the guys went to watch the ManU football game at the Union. I hung out in the kitchen and eventually people emerged from their rooms, where they had been the whole time. I was playing cards for a while, and eventually went to stand up, when I found that I had sat stepped on some gum and then sat on my foot. It was all over my pants, my foot, and Jonnys chair. I was fuming mad. I had to switch chairs with Jonny and spent the afternoon freezing and scraping the gum off my favorite pants. That was fun. Anyways, eventually Daniel, Jonny and I went to Tesco to pick up the supplies for our drinking night in. To add to a shitty day, when we got back, I dropped my hairdryer on my face and decided end the shittiness of my day by listening to loud music in the shower because that always helps me. Anyways, eventually we all cooked dinner for ourselves and then let the drinking commence. Jonny and I played spit (I dominated 2-0) and we all listened to music, watched Jonnys videos online, and the boys played pro-evo. I called Logan and talked to Niki and Ben which was a nice taste of home. The night ended with a drunken game of Setback and Kobi telling us to keep quiet so that he could sleep for the next 3 hours before rowing in the am. I came back to my room with a hot bowl of tomato soup and passed out to some Scrubs.
The episode of Scrubs that I was watching was called "My Journey" and played Journey's "Dont Stop Believing" a few times through. The program I was running the show through put the episode on repeat, and I kept waking up to the song, everytime. I could have just turned over and turned the episode off, and Im not sure why I didnt, but I tossed and turned all night. So, as a result, the song was stuck in my head all day, and I was really tired. I eventually got up and went to the kitchen for a cup of tea to find Jonny awake but tired because he also barely slept. We watched some cheesy TV, including American Idol and a really bad "funny" (though it wasnt at all) animal show. I made some lunch, and we watched Garden State. Chris started to prepare dinner and I realized that I had a lot of work to do for Monday, so I went to the lib to watch American Graffiti for my film class. I came back for dinner and we watched Top Gear and football for the rest of the evening. I attempted to read this extremely long, wordy, and confusing article for my film class, it was EXTREMELY BORING. I had read one sentence that was about 10 lines long...thats ridiculous. We all retired, I came back to my room, showered, and now am facing the article again. Only 43/66 pages to go. BOO. Anyways, now that Ive taken about an hour to do this, I should go.
Until tomorrow...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb