Week 4...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Coventry
January 31st 2007
Published: February 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mondays LOW: Feeling too sick to function.
Mondays HIGH: Top Banana with the guys!
Tuesdays LOW: Frantically looking for books in the most confusing lib in the world.
Tuesdays HIGH: Compliments on dinner and watching a hilarious YouTube video.
(http://youtube.com/watch?v=10VmJ-8XGA4)
Wednesdays LOW: CANNIBALISM CLASS!
Wednesdays HIGH: Interesting convo after dinner.

So on Monday I had 4 classes, and a presentation in one of them. Mondays are definitely the longest day. I went to my first two classes and in the second one got the WORST stomach ache, I could barely walk. I went back to my room to lay down and missed my third class. But recovering gave me more time to prepare for my presentation in my film class and I felt better after a couple hours. The presentation went well, I actually felt like I knew what I was talking about. A lot of the time here, I feel like Im behind and that things are over my head, but on Monday it seemed like the opposite. People hadnt seen the movie we were soppose to have watched the week before, and a lot of people hadnt even done the reading. I guess Im not so behind. Plus, I think my Intro to Film class at UConn really helped me because I made an observation about this scene in a movie and the professor was like "Ive never noticed that before." I know its sooooo lame and not even a big deal, but it made me feel like Im actually learning something. So after my presentation, I came back and hung out for a while, and eventually we had dinner. No one was planning on going out, so we all just hung out in the common room. Melissa tried beer for the first time (she's a red wine kind of gal) and ended up getting sick. 😞 Kobi and I went to Tesco and after a couple of the guys had some drinks, we decided to go to Top B. It was late, but it was a lot of fun. I heard some more new songs that I have to download. They even played "Son of a Preacher Man," which I thought was weird for a bar. O well. But we all headed back when it was over and once again had the England/America debate. As much as I love being American, sometimes I really think that life in the UK is more my style. Things are more liberal here, and people arent so uptight. I was really in the mood for a romance, so eventually I crawled into bed and fell asleep to The Notebook. (Still so good!)
On Tuesdays I dont have classes, so I just got up to go to the lib and pick up some last minute things to cook dinner. I cooked quesadillas and a cheesecake (after the Juniors cheesecake discussion we had the night before). The quesadillas were yummy and the cheesecake was decent, but I think Ill try a dfferent recipe next time. Everyone liked it though so I guess thats all that matters. After dinner we watched a couple episodes of CSI and then all crowded into Jonnys room to watch an episode of Peep Show...hilarious. Eventually, everyone went to bed and Chris and I still had to wash/dry up from dinner. I finally came back to my room to do my reading for seminar and ended up staying up till about 5 to get it done. But I got to talk to Tiffany online for a while and she updated me with PiPhi things...I miss everyone! I decided it was time to head to bed when I heard Melissas alarm go off through the wall, haha.
Today I had a business seminar from 11-12, which I wrongfully expected to be interesting. I usually like business classes, but today it was just really dry. The class is based on Human Resource Management, but its not a "how to" course. Rather, it just studies how successful certain methods have been and how all of those methods compare and contrast to each other. Hopefully next class will be better. Since that class did not wake me up, I came back for a nap before tackling the reading for my night class. The reading took forever and was utterly boring. I guess it was better than reading about cannibalism, but thats not saying much. I had a glass of cider in the evening so that hopefully I could losen up a little and enjoy the class...that did not work. The whole time, Im counting down the minutes until the class ends, and then she keeps us for longer. I think that is so disrespectful and shes done it every time. With about 10 people in the class, and only one of them within 10 years of my age, I really feel like I cant relate to anyone. Everyone just really likes to hear themselves talk and so they ramble on about nothing for 10 minutes and accommplish nothing. There is no black/white answer to any question given, and that drives me nuts. I like knowing the answer, not just analyzing what it could be. ICK, theres no point in discussing it. Anyways, I called Mom when I got out and vented for a while, that felt good. Like me, my flatmates dont understand how you can talk about cannibalism or coffee for two weeks straight. As they would say, its 'rubbish'. But we all ate dinner, and had some interesting coversation for a long time. Boys are so crude, its hilarious. We watched the football highlights for a while and then everyone trickled off to bed. I think Im going to make a snack and do my reading for tomorrow now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb