12 days to go!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey » Woking
November 11th 2009
Published: November 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Here I am at home with 12 days to go until I leave for Peu - I'm excited and a little bit scared!

I had my vaccinations back in September, Hepatitis A, Typhoid and Tetanus, with my choice as to whether to have rabies and a course of anti-malarials. I had 2 injections, a combined Hepatitis A and Typhoid jab and a Diptheria/Tetatnus/Polio jab. As for rabies and anti-malarials, I decided not to bother. The rabies jabs cost £45 a shot and you need three of them, and I'm not going to any high-risk areas for Malaria anyway. The same goes for Yellow Fever as I'm not going to the Jungle. More info from the NHS.

I've also had my feet looked at and new orthotic insoles made and adjusted to fit comfortably inside the Salomon Explorer GTX boots that I bought from Snow+Rock.

I really ought to get to the gym and do some more walking in the next week or so! Then it's off to Heathrow at 4am on the 23rd for a 6:35am flight to Amsterdam and onward connection to Lima with KLM.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb