Jo’s Summer Trip To UK,Spain&Portugal


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Suffolk » Ipswich
August 13th 2018
Published: August 13th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Monday August 6,2018
This morning, I had a wonderful night sleep and came downstairs and said good morning to Sally! I ate breakfast,took a shower and got dressed to start my day. Then Sally drove me to the Ipswich station to get the 10:08 train to London Liverpool Street station. The train arrived into London Liverpool Street station at 11:40 am. I headed to the tube with the Oyster card from Sally, that I was borrowing for the day! My first destination was: Carnaby Street and it was a cool,quirky and fun area of London!! I walked around for most of the afternoon and checking different stores and settled on Pizza Pilgrims for lunch. The pizza was delicious and it was a nice, quaint restaurant . Afterwards, I walked through Soho and Chinatown. I ducked into a few Starbucks to charge my phone and get in from the hot day with a refreshing glass of cold ice tea. Then I walked towards a cultural museum which was : The National Portrait Gallery. A wonderful museum to visit and be cool at the same time! I walked through Trafalgar Square and posed with someone dressed up as Picchu which was fun. I took a few pictures of the fountain and the lions and countless tourists hanging about the square with their families. I finally arrived at Covent Garden around 5pm and walked around the different stores and markets before getting back on the tube.I got back to London Liverpool Street around 5:45pm and started to figure out how I was going back home to Ipswich and Poplar Farm.
I asked a station customer service person whether or not if the trains back to Ipswich were working. He explained that there was an electrical issue/fire on the tracks and that the maintenance crew were working on it but it would take all day to fix. Argh!!! I called Sally and found that there were trains running to Colchester and luckily Sally was very kind to pick me up from Colchester train station. We later had a lovely supper and I showed the goodies I bought in London. Afterwards, it was time for bed and I was yawning.
Goodnight and sweet dreams!!






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb