Testing, testing


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Taunton
September 28th 2010
Published: September 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The Flight to Chile

I fly from Gatwick to Madrid where I have an 8 hour stopover (!) before heading to Buenos Aires. I then take a taxi across the city to Aeropuerto Aeroparque. From there I fly to Santiago, arriving at 11am.

My Bible for the next few months!My Bible for the next few months!My Bible for the next few months!

This is my guidebook. Exciting stuff.
Hello everyone!

If you have expressed an interest in keeping up with what I'm doing in South America over the next few months (or if I think that you SHOULD have expressed an interest by now...) you should be able to access this blog. I thought this would be easier than an email list as I can upload photos here when I have a spare moment and this way I won't be clogging up your inboxes!

I hope to post something here every week, depending on how busy I am and whether I've done anything of more interest to you than simply learn a few additional words of Spanish.

This first post is just a tester really, to make sure it all works and that everyone can see the blog. I won't bore you with the details of my preparations; suffice it to say that I'm almost ready to go - just need to make a few last minute purchases in that Traveller's Emporium that is Taunton highstreet. In fact, I think I may even have over-planned as I went to the lengths of buying a 'Viper Tactical Stealth Ankle Money Wallet' on Ebay earlier (essentially a bum-bag for your leg - don't tell me I'm not trendy!) . I'm yet to discover what it is that makes it 'tactical' exactly but I'm sure that, in the eventuality of being mugged at knife-point on the mean streets of Santiago, all will be revealed...

The Plan(loosely!);

1.Fly to Santiago on 7th October and start at Spanish School on 10th.
2.Spend 2 months on an intensive language course at the school to attempt to get to an intermediate level.
3.Travel in Chile and Argentina until the start of my 3-month internship in Buenos Aires (probably around February)
4.See how much money I've got left and then plan from there!



Anyway, seeing as I haven't actually done anything or been anywhere yet, I'll keep this one short. I have uploaded a pointless photograph of my guide-book just to check that the photos are visible and my camera works!

My next post will probably be at the end of my first week in Chile so check back soon!

Tom 😱



Advertisement



28th September 2010

Looking Good!
The blog looks great and we will look forward to your updates Tom. The tactical bum bag for the leg probably means that you have to take your trousers off to get at your money!! Don't draw attention to yourself though will you? Have a wonderful trip.
28th September 2010

Your Trip
Take care cous!!! We will only be a few thousand miles away if you need any help ... least you are in the right hemisphere now!! Hx
14th October 2010

Good time to be in Chile mate, hope it's going well. For some reason my other comment didn't make it up here...

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb