Sponsored Bike Ride


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Taunton
April 13th 2007
Published: April 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

IlfracombeIlfracombeIlfracombe

We set off at 8:15am
On Easter Sunday (8th April) I cycled the Devon Coast-2-Coast route with my uncle. It was 102-miles of beaches, estuaries and lush green valleys that followed much of the west flank of Dartmoor. The route followed former railway lines, took us through tunnels and across breath-taking viaducts and bridges. It was a long day (setting off from Illfracombe at 8:15am and finishing in Plymouth just after 8pm) and very challenging but we made it with about 15 minutes of daylight left! As well as improving my fitness ten-fold with the training and burning off about 4 days worth of food in 12 hours, the ride also helped me raise about £500 so a big thank you to all those who sponsored or supported me in some way or another - especially to my Uncle John who did the ride with me!
I received my plane tickets today so it's all happening - just one week to go! The next time you hear from me I may well be in Kenya...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

BarnstapleBarnstaple
Barnstaple

First stop - Barnstaple
East YardEast Yard
East Yard

After cycling for about 4 hours we stopped at East Yard
Meldon ViaductMeldon Viaduct
Meldon Viaduct

We were beginning to flag a bit but after stopping at Meldon for a late lunch we were soon back on track
PlymouthPlymouth
Plymouth

Twelve hours after we had set off, we arrived in the city of Plymouth - tired, cold and hungry but triumphant all the same!
SpeedometerSpeedometer
Speedometer

In case any of you have any doubt, here is the proof - 102.76 miles in total!


13th April 2007

Well done
Hey chook i'm so proud of you, i cant believe how far you cycled, its amazing! congratualtions x x x x

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0853s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb