Bath to Glastonbury


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Glastonbury
July 19th 2010
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 51.1474, -2.71778

Glastonbury, England

We arrived in Glastonbury about 1:20 for a lunch break. Glastonbury Abbey was founded around 700 AD. It is associated with the legend of King Arthur. In 1191 legend says that the monks found the buried remains of King Author and Queen Guinevere. In 1278 they were re-buried in the chancel in the presence of King Edward I and Queen Eleanor. The place is also associated with St. Joseph of Arimathea. He was Jesus' great-uncle. It is said that during the time that Jesus was a young man, he traveled with his great-uncle and built a simple place of worship. Also, on the grounds is the Holy Thorn Tree, which flowers only twice a year; around Christmas and around Easter. I needed to have Dave, the driver, let me get into my luggage. My camera battery was dead, and although I had another one, we still half the day ahead of us. Then, I headed off to the Abbey ruins for a quick look around. I think I am getting burnt out on seeing Church ruins. I was in and out of the place in 20 minutes. The place was quite extensive with large grassy areas, gardens, and even an apple orchard. I headed to grab a quick bite to eat. The place I chose was busy since they had a huge patio area on the corner of the major intersections of the town. I ordered cheesy garlic bread thinking that would be quick and simple. While waiting, I plugged my camera battery into its charger in the wall. I had used up most of it in Bath. I waited and I waited. Finally, after 15 minutes my two slices of white bread covered with butter garlic and mozzarella arrived at my table. I let then cool off for another 5 minutes and then ate them along with drinking a small bottle of Coke. I had about 10 minutes to get back to the bus. I stopped in one store to see what they had. It was a store that sold cheap items that had to deal with witchcraft, dragons, wolves, Native Americana. I was just about the last one on the bus and we were back on our way to Plymouth at 2:30 p.m.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb