Glastonbury Home Sweet Home


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Glastonbury
September 8th 2010
Published: September 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

CornwallCornwallCornwall

This was just past the remains of the Great Bosullow Chun Castle
Sunshine oh yes sunshine, on my way to Glastonbury then Bath. I was early so after breaky I walked down to the ocean and sat for while just enjoying life,taking in the view and listening to the ocean.
As I handed my key in I saw a photo of the Man O toll I (stones). I asked where they were and luckily for me the directions were really clear. Left here, right there, turn at the white house past farmer Joe, look out for the old tractor then park beside the farmhouse on the right the walk a few miles through the pastures, I love it like I’m going to find it, but hey I will give it my best shot.
Off I drove, left, right, up hills, down hills, past houses, farms and down little narrow lanes ways did I find the Man o toll, not on your Nelly. But wait I did come across a farm and lovely old farmer at that, he had lived in Cornwall all his 80 years, he has a sister in Adelaide and was chuffed I ended up in his pastures.
He was more than happy for me to explore his land at my
CornwallCornwallCornwall

View from the top of the hill.
own risk and he told me about the remains of a castle and a tomb that was a fair way up the hill and over the rise. He also said the castle and tomb were original and other stones of history in the area were reproduced so I was lucky to have ended up where I did. Off I go on my little expedition the ground was vey rock and thick with ferns I did eventually find what I was looking for and had some very nice views of the country side to go with my find. It’s amazing to think how people walked the land, built castles, homes and made his land their home. I had specially designed foot wear to tackle this terrain they didn’t. People must have been tough I mean really tough not just physically but mentally.
I hadn’t realized how much time had passed it gone midday and I had a three hour drive to Glastonbury so I headed back to my car and got on my merry way. The county side in Cornwall is so beautiful the best way to describe it is, imagine a lovely handcrafted English country quilt in greens, yellows and soft purples with lovely hues of blue and turquoise all defined by lovely thick borders of dark green, that’s how I see Cornwall , very English, very warm and very beautiful.
Glastonbury ok someone must have phoned ahead and told this town Marisa is on her way, Glastonbury had everything I mean absolutely everything I would want a perfect place to live in to have. It was an enchanting place with amazing streets lined with shops filled with crystals, gems stones, jewelry, Healers, mineral baths, organic food, organic clothing, cafes with homemade food, books, silk paintings, paintings, hand crafted products and soap. I think I should stop going on now, oh what for they had meditation classes’ yoga classes, drumming classes, crystal classes, festivals after festivals and they also held ones of the world greatest music festivals which began in 1970, the Glastonbury music festival honestly what’s not to love even the sun was out, GREAT DAY. And top it off I found a great pair of Carnelian earrings in a real rich orange color I was looking for a matching pendant unfortunately they didn’t have one.
I was in my element and dam it I arrived at 3.30pm everything closes at 5.30pm, run Marisa run, and run I did. I tried to see all that I could; it just wasn’t enough time, so I will just have to come back on my way to Watford on Sunday, what a shame. As I approached the town I could see a hill with a monument on top so I asked one of the locals what it was, it’s Glastonbury Arch, she replied, apparently King Arthur had dragged the local priest up on top of the hill and had him executed and buried there. I was also told by a little rainbow that the hill was made famous by a singer Peter Gabriel, Solsbury Hill
Oh well all is closed so I headed for Bath, I arrived and found my accommodation it was actually in the ground of the Bath University so it was a challenge to find the actually building. I must say I felt like I was in hospital and I was cut off from everything not a good choice of accommodation, never mind I’m here for one night only.
The next morning I was out of here lickity split, I was hungry and ready to check out Bath. As
BristolBristolBristol

Loved this sign
I came down the hill into the city of Bath the first I noticed was everything was the same. The buildings and home were all in rows and they were all made of sand stone not painted at all. The only thing that differed was the front doors. They were either painted different colors or the little window above the door was different in some way, it was really odd to look at. As with all the towns I have visited in think they all have amazing gardens with baskets of floral color decorating their streets it’s a real delight to see. Even though Bath was very much the same it had a lovely feel to it, some places you visit you know you’re welcome it likes the red carpet is rolling out in front of you and every step is a joy. That is what I felt like in Bath it’s really relaxing, people are smiling at you and the city slowly came to life as the morning progressed.
I hoped on the city sightseeing bus so I could find out a little history about bath and of course see those places I’m sure I missed walking around. Well I hadn’t missed much as Bath isn’t a huge city but the history was great about the rise and fall of the famous spa town. It was once the popular destination for the aristocrats its spas were famous for their apparent healing prosperities and the rich and famous flocked from all over. The town is now a world heritage site and its lovely Georgian architecture dominants the city’s skyline.
As I hoped off the Bus a passenger asked if I managed to take some good photos, I replied I did, she said Oh you’re an Australian; well yes I am! She then introduced herself to me as Karen and her friend Antonia. They had both lived in Australia and that was where they had met. We stood on the foot path chatting for a while and they asked me to join them for coffee so I accepted. We went to a lovely little café where I had tea and a slice of Victoria sponge, of course! It was Delicious.
Antonia was a lovely lady and when I say lay I mean lady, she was just lovely, she had travelled the world for over ten years, she left home one day for a holiday and has only just returned home to the England after a plea from her daughter to come home and spend time with the family. Antonia had sparkles in her eyes as I was telling them where I was headed you could see she just wanted to head off once again.
Karen was a real earthy person she loved geology and had been studding archeology digs on line. Karen was only visiting Antonia, as she was heading off to an archeology site in Macedonia where she had volunteered to assist in the dig. Karen was extremely excited and eager to commence the dig, during our conversation Karen was talking about her husband throwing a chair at a bear that had made its way on to here verandah, I looked at her and Antonia; Karen and her husband lived in an area way out of town and quite often bears would appear on their property, How about that imagine, not like the old Kangaroo pretty harmless as long as you give it some distance.
It was time to go and as we said our good buys, Antonia handed me her phone no and invited me to join her at the Kew Gardens near London if I had time before I left for France, Just lovely of her. Karen handed me a business card and invited me to stay with her in Canada since I was going to be over that way, the business card was from a gemology club, Karen happened to be the president I could not believe it, I told her my love and passion of gem stone and crystals, what a small world we live in, and how amazing is it the people we meet that will in some way influence our lives. I think I will certainly be making my way to Canada.
I took off to Bristol this is the birthplace of my mum so I wanted to check it out, oh boy this is a big place very, very busy. I pulled into a car park under a huge shopping complex for a break. I took the stairs up to the centre and as I entered the centre a crystal store caught my eye, the same on where I had purchased my earrings from, you believe it, in the cabinet was the matching pendant to my earrings, some things are just meant to be and today is proving to be one of those days. ( Thanks Mum ).The path we walk is no accident it’s all set out for us we just need to walk it and all will be revealed. I had a little walk around and found myself stressed, time to leave so I headed for the Bristol bridge apparently you can view the whole city from the bridge. The view was just spectacular you could see the whole city and beyond, the area was actually really nice a little oh la posh, after a few photos it was time to head for Cardiff Wales where I had booked two night accommodation.
Ok Cardiff Wales let’s just say I don’t really like it here I should have stayed in Glastonbury or Cornwall, hindsight is a wonderful thing, that’s all I really have to say about Cardiff.
Its Sunday and its time to make my way back to Watford, before I do I wanted to go past Glastonbury for the last time. Wow Oh Wow as I arrive I found myself in the middle of a festival, a Goddess Festival those of you who know me well, will know I was over the moon. There was singing, dancing, celebrations a street parade and a gathering around the Chalice well and Gardens, the colors were spectacular and predominately reds and pinks, some of the people had gone to a lot of trouble with their dress. There were ladies of all age’s men and children all joining in, there were big smiles and laughter everywhere, and people were just having a lot of fun. The Chalice well was a magical place it was situated just behind the main centre of town, one side of the well the water ran clear and the other side the water ran a reddish color. The Chalice gardens are right beside the well it has healing pool and waterfall and the entrance had a lovely garden arch covered in flowers. By the end of the festival people were jumping in the well, splashing water everywhere it was really a lot of fun. It was also great to mix with people who had similar interests, some of the healers had come from different parts of the world, I met a lovely lady from Denmark who was a color therapist and she looked so lovely with a rainbow painted on her face. I really do love Glastonbury I hope to go back one day and stay for a while.



Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 30


Advertisement

BathBath
Bath

This was the view I saw as I entered the town
BathBath
Bath

Famous Bath Gardens


Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb