Bath, Stonehedge and Lacock Village


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
May 15th 2008
Published: May 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

English BreakfastEnglish BreakfastEnglish Breakfast

First thing first, food!
Today something woke me up before my 6:00 am alarm, so at 5:30 I got my things together and headed toward the train station. I forgot my bus pass to Bath, England at home so I was hoping to grab a train for a similar price, but it cost almost £60 during business rush hour that morning!!!! I did it though because I only have one day in Bath and half of it will be spent at Stonehedge.
I got on the Underground to Paddington Station and boarded my 6:50 train on Platform 7. I feel like every suit was staring at me in my jeans, windbreaker and backpack. I got a window seat and gazed into the country side before arriving in Bath SPA just as it began raining. I pulled out my travel umbrella, compliments of Nana, and followed the directions to St. Christopher's hostel. I dropped off my bag and went back to a small restaurant advertising £2.50 full English Breakfast. I sat by the window enjoying every bite. The fried mushrooms were amazing! So were the sweet beans!
From there I did some exploring of all of north Bath. Th views were amzing, but the most impressive
Royal CrescentRoyal CrescentRoyal Crescent

The massive Royal Crescent. One of a kind.
thing is Bath's architecture. EVERYTHING is made of limestone. All of it is really old. The Royal Crescent was really impressive. It left me wondering how much their rent is living there. Probably insane! I also particuarly liked Pulteney bridge going over the canal. It has cute little shops on it like I'd never seen before.
I looked at my watch and decided it was time to start heading to the Roman Baths, the attraction I most wanted to see. It was 9:30 am. I paid my student admission of £9 and got lost in the history and the steam for 3 hours. The beauty the springs still possess hundreds of years later, cause ytou to get lost imagining their prestige brand new. Because the natural spring is natually warm the Romans considered this spring spiritual. This became not only a place for relaxation, bus also a place of worship. statues of Roman gods, particularly Minerva are found throughout. I'll have to return in a few years because at this point only 1/4 of the Baths and Temple have been excavated.
When i finished, I walked inot the Bath Abbey. Again, sheer beauty. The stain glass and ceiling, not to
The Hot SpringThe Hot SpringThe Hot Spring

The origin of the hot spring at the Roman Baths of Bath, England
mention the massive organ really catch your attention. Then you realize that you're walking on tombstones and the walls are tombstones! I felt bad. Disrespectful. I have to admit though, they give the place character. I said a quick prayer and realized I was hungry. (This seems to happen when I leave churches, I don't know...)
I started heading to the metting place for Mad Max Stonehedge tour and saw a £2.50 lunch special for a bacon and brie bagette. Again, I love English food! As I was sitting at the restaurant window I noticed a white van with a Mad Max flyer in the window. I headed over, introduced myself to Nick, the tourguide, and staked my claim of the front (left) seat. (Which beacuse everything's backwards, made me feel like I should be driving!)
We headed out on our journey and as we drove Nick gave us the history of the Stonehedge. I have to admit, I was seeing Stonehedge because its a Europe must, but after learning about the sheer magnitude of this structure in both size and prestige, you can't help but be amazed and impressed. The largest rock weighs 37 tons and it was erected by people only 300 years after the wheel was invented 5,400 years ago. I took at lot of pictures.
On the way home we saw numerous old English towns with thatched roofs and all. We stopped in Lacock Village, a town that has been preserved for 1000 years. It just smells of age. This town had the home that was Harry Potters in the movies. For most of my stay in Lacock I was cocused on taking older looking pictures (i.e. trying to avoid cars). I wandered into the giftshop loooking for something small to commemorate this excusion and I saw a reasonably priced pair of English blown glass earrings. Sarah Malecki told me once that when she traveled Europe earrings are what she collected. I decided I was going to steal her idea. Earring are perfect because they are small, cheapter, and have practical use. A globe or a deck of cards would get lost in my things. So I got them and decided to take a picture holding the earrings I purchased in the city I purchased them. Just as I checked out, the tour was ready to head back to Bath. Sitting there, I felt like I could fall over, I was so tired. I need sleep before heading to Manchester tomorrow! I'm heading to the Grocery store accross the street with my new friend Proscha and then calling it an early night. This city doesn't have much of a night life anyway.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Holding StonehedgeHolding Stonehedge
Holding Stonehedge

Being silly!


19th May 2008

:-)
Maeve that looks/sounds sooo amazing... i love the picture of you holding stonehedge!!! Miss you!!!
19th May 2008

You are so enthusiastic...
Glad you are having fun. Can't wait to see how you like Manchester. (oh.... StoneheDge ?)
22nd October 2008

Good Idea!
Hey Hun! It was a good idea to steal my idea! How are you doing?

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb