Wales


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Shropshire
April 27th 2008
Published: April 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

- I spoke too soon about the weather; it’s raining, but luckily just very lightly. We stopped at a little pub for lunch, roast pork for only 5.5pounds. We are now traveling through Wales and the sun is out again. Sitting in the hedges are rabbits with their babies and there are so many ducks with their ducklings, and we just saw a squirrel, spring is amazing here.
My job as first mate is to open the locks and bridges. So far there have been other people (men) around who like to take over but I’ve got the hang of it. At a bridge that I had to pull up by winch there was a group of 10yo boys who wanted to hang off the bridge as I raised it. They said ‘we do it all the time’ so I let them but from the way they got so excited I think they were pulling my leg. Listening to them talk with their sing song welsh accents was worth it.
We’ve stopped to moor by a little village for the night, the sun is out and we’re off to explore it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb