Jabs & Bags Update


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Shropshire » Telford
March 6th 2018
Published: January 20th 2018
Edit Blog Post

** Again putting this post as 6th March so it fits under the South America blogs - its actually 20th Jan 2018 ** Follow on instagram k8e37 for photos of the trip whilst we are away and for prep photos!



Quick update regarding jabs, all is good from the yellow fever *touch wood* so far and I'm 10 days after having it so only another 4 to go until I'm clear of any apparent side effects. I would say that around day 5 I did feel pretty tired and as if I was coming down with anything but I felt better after some rest and apart from a bit of a funny throat I'm all good. So rabies... I still haven't had jab number two. Had to phone up Boots on Tuesday to check they had receive more in stock, turns out they havent and now the manufacturer has told Boots they are on a shortage so each branch of Boots that does the jabs is only allowed 3 doses a month. Telford my branch had used their last dose for Jan on me and not expecting more til Feb which then starts to cut it fine with getting both done in the time left before hols. So I rang around Cannock, Stafford and Wolves branches to be told all out of stock. Starting to panic I managed to get in with Superdrug in Wolverhampton for the 22nd for my second dose so thats due on Monday, hopefully I can then book their for my third as well and get those all done with. I'm booked in on 1st Feb for my next jabs at the docs (Diptheria, Polio, Tetanus & second dose of Hep A & B). Then I need to talk to the nurse about whether I need or can have a booster MMR being as we have no confirmation I've ever had it. You can't have the MMR within 28 days of having the Yellow Fever jab so luckily once I've got to 7th Feb until I could have it but we'll see. Coupled with all this is the fact there is a near epidemic of some strains of Australian and Japanese flu going around the UK at the moment and you have to be well to have the jabs hopefully I'll make it through OK.



So bag update, my backpack has been purchased and arrived. I went for the 50l + 10l Quechua Ladies backpack in the end. I've been quite impressed with the quality and like the little backpack top it comes with. I also ordered a plane cover bag as well which the backpack goes in once I check it in at the airport to ensure none of the straps (and there are a lot) that dangle off it don't get caught up in some machinery and broken. The only problem is the plane cover bag is quite big but I think I can manage it. I also took a trip to Decathlon and bought my day pack, its also a Quechua 30l one and it folds in two which is handy for if I want to check that in with my backpack as they will both fit in the plane cover so we'll see how things works out. I also ordered some packing cubes and had a quick pack of my trek clothes that I've pretty much got all sorted just to see how much room they take up in the backpack. They fill up pretty much half the backpack. I've managed to sit down and do a list of other clothes to pack for the rest of the holiday and I think I'll be OK. Again we'll see when the actual time comes to pack! I've also bought a couple of new bits of clothing for the holiday that are very lightweight and scrunch up small.



Fitness - did my 21st 5k Park Run today at Telford. It starts at 9am every Saturday and I have to leave the house at 8.35am to get up there in time. I woke up this morning about 8am knowing snow was forecast so it was likely to be cold and pretty much decided I was going to skip today. But then I remembered I did a gym 5k on Thursday and that would have been pointless if I didnt drag my arse out of bed and get up there so it was 8.25 in the end that I got out of bed into my running gear and downed a red bull on the way in the car. It was cold but I had decided to wear one of my long sleeve base layers to run in and I was actually surprised how warm I was so thats a big plus for that top for the trek. The course was icy in parts and the race director told everyone to go steady and that it wasn't a pb course today joking he'd remove anyone if they got a pb! I wasn't aiming for a pb and just wanted to get round, get it done and have a nice sit down in the local Costa Coffee with a cappucino and a muffin once I'd finished. I clocked 35.58 in the end which I was happy with. My pb set back in October was 33.37 although I did do 33.46 last week but with my lack of motivation and the icy conditions just under 36 was fine by me especially as I actually felt good at the end and didn't have to spend any time leaning against what I've nicknamed my "heaving" tree in recent weeks.



I had my hypnotherapy session on Wednesday which was surprisingly good. I didn't know what to expect so just went with an open mind. We chatted for the first half about my fears, how i feel during them, after I've done something I was dreading, how I cope with my fears etc. Then I had hypnotherapy which was recorded on my phone so I can replay back to myself which I've done every day since. The therapist explained it wasn't any magic formula and she wasn't expecting me to go try find the nearest bridge to go across as it didnt work like that. It also wasn't like the hypnotherapy you see on the tv etc. The only way I can describe it as being completely relaxed and calm and just listening to what she had to say and taking it in. I can't say whether its worked or not as I haven't been on any high places yet but I have noticed once change... I'm really starting to get excited about the trek now. It's not that I wasn't or I was dreading it before but I feel a lot more confident about being able to cope and to do it now and rather than thinking about it with trepidation I'm really looking forward to it. I've got another session booked for this week so I'll see how that goes but if it really works I will be very pleased.



Theres not much more to add apart from the fact I've been obsessively watching you tube vlogs of the Salkantay Trek and also of the places we are going to and I'm really starting to look forward to going. I've uploaded a few of the bridge pics I've found online from the trek eek!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 17; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0929s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb