Stoke-on-Trent to Ludlow


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Shropshire » Ludlow
July 18th 2010
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 52.3682, -2.71746

Stoke-on-Trent to Ludlow

The road to Ludlow was a winding, tree-lined country road. We went through many villages that were so small that you could count to 3 and you would have seen the whole town. Many sheep and cows were in the fields while it rained off and on the whole way. We got into Ludlow about 1:05 and would depart at 2:45. The town square was having a swap meet. I walked through the two aisles of tents and tables. Most of the stuff was jewelry or antiques. Ludlow had many old buildings that actually were made in the Tudor time period. I ate at one restaurant that was built in 1365. I had the Cottage Pie with chips (same as the Shepherds Pie) and a Coke. It was a good meal. The total was just about £ 8.00, but the register total came to £ 35.00!!! The girl at the counter got all flustered, and couldn't fix it, so she had to get the manager. It took about 5 minutes for them to try to get it to work right. The rest of the time, I looked around the buildings and took pictures. As I was taking a photo of one building, a man who was walking by with his bike, told me that the oldest building is down the alley, and then around the corner. I went down the alley, which was actually an old pathway from the 1600's, went up some steps to a higher street, and ended up across from the church. Around the corner was the oldest house in Ludlow. I headed toward the pick up area which was near the Ludlow Castle. I had decided not to go in, since I wanted time to eat and sight see the town. I did take some pictures of the inner courtyard before leaving to get on the bus.


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 27; dbt: 0.076s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb