Day 5 - Lower Arncott to Weston on the Green


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire
July 3rd 2006
Published: July 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Map Day 5

You can see me walking around the field with the cows just west of Wendlebury!

Monday 3rd July


Left at 6 o’clock in the morning and already the sun was half way up the sky and it was over 20C. There is nothing better than breakfast outdoors and especially after a bit of a walk it tastes even better… see the one photo I took today!

My conversations with passers-by are getting longer. This could be due to me wanting to talk to people more or maybe also with getting more into the countryside and people aren’t as frightened by me walking along with a rucksack! My 15 minute conversation with a woman on her morning walk covered topics ranging from the aggressive dog “Oz” at the next farm I was to avoid, to the possible location of an immigration holding facility on some local MOD land.
Things I learnt today:
1 - Don’t always trust the local’s directions… I wandered around a field full of cows today trying to find a way out and over a railway due to the woman’s advice, when in fact I didn’t even need to go into the field. You can imagine how much this annoyed me since I got closer to cows than I needed to and I walked am extra half a mile!
2 - When it’s really hot you can drink an awful lot of water and not need to go to the loo!
3 - More and more country pubs are being converted to Gastro pubs, hence me having smoked salmon and a succulent rib eye steak for dinner tonight.
4 - When it is over 30C I can sit in a cold bath for over an hour and not feel cold!


Advertisement



9th July 2006

Mmmmm
Mmm! That sure is one big Scooby Snack!
9th July 2006

Goo goo gaa gaa
Hey Auntie Helen, I know I'm too young to talk but my Mum keeps telling me about you doing this walking thing. I'm desperate to try it out so can you give me some pointers when we meet up next up it sounds like real fun. I don't wear any shoes yet - don't know whether this helps with the blister situation???? Can't wait to see you next weekend. Lots of love, cuddles and big laughs Jennifer xxx

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb