Slowly But Surely


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
January 10th 2012
Published: January 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I think I faux-pa-ed today. We were all talking about healthcare in the US vs England and our English student helper mentioned that dental wasn't covered in the UK and I was like "that explains a lot" and then there was an awkward silence during which I defensively insisted that it was a joke. Maybe I need to learn tact while I'm here.

I met the lady named Louise who e-mailed me to arrange my arrival. I always pictured her as old and stuffy but she was really young and way hotter than me. Or "fitter" as they say here. Good for her!

Apparently Hertford sucks at sports so maybe I'll get to be on a team! The student helper that I insulted said that if I'd every played soccer before (though of course he wrongly called it football) I would be the star of the team. So maybe I can be a soccer star! Or rowing. Or rugby!

A bunch of the visting students are checking out the "bohemian" part of Oxford tonight so I think I will feel quite at home there since I'm kinda weird like that.

I ate a pasty a couple days ago and it was kind of yummy but also made me feel confident that I can lose the 5 pounds I gained over the holidays without much sacrafice.

Also I bought a mug for 1 pound.

It's nice to be making some friends but I feel aimless. I really want classes to start (next week!) because then I won't have time to miss anyone (or breathe probably but it's all give and take).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb