Oxfordshire


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
March 16th 2006
Published: March 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

And now we are in Oxford.
Its great to be back in this beautiful and historic town. It has been just over 3 years since I last came to the place that is famous for its world reknowned University but more importantly (to some of us) for producing the greatest english band since Pink Floyd....that band of course is Radiohead. Hopefully we will spot one of the boys around town.

So our North American adventures, are over for now. I can speak for both of us when I say that we had an abssolutely fantastic time. It is so hard to work out what the best bit was because pretty much it was all great. Also sometimes its not seeing the empire state building that affects you most, its driving through Texas listening to explosions in the sky or sitting in an old chair, drinking a hot cup of coffee, looking out the window while snow blankets the old streets of Montreal.

I can say that New York was definitely the highlight as far as cities go but generally I loved the United States as a whole. I particulary enjoyed reading about their politics from their (rather than our) point of view in the newspapers and a few books I bought while there. Actually the other night I had a dream that Hillary Clinton became the next President and I was one of her senior advisors but all I had to do was take Bill out to play Golf and Tennis so that he was out of Hillary's way and didnt stuff anything up. Maybe it was a preminition, I reckon it would be a good job, and as for Hillary...I reckon she'd do okay.

We finally made it out to Liberty Island to see the magnificant statue. Its as if she still expects to greet immigrants as they sail into the harbour. She has her back firmly turned on the New York skyline, waiting for the arrivals even though they now arrive via airplanes at JFK airport. Personally it was a thrill to see the symbol of hope that welcomed millions of immigrants to the new world as they left poverty and war in their native lands for a chance of making it in the 'land of oppurtunities'. And a land of oppurtunities it is, New York, however Frank Sinata was always on the money when he 'if I can make it there, I can make it anywhere'.

We are a bit unsure how long we will stay in Oxford for, we are only in the UK for a few days before heading to the warmth and sunshine of Rome. Its quite a lot colder here in Enlgand than in NYC but its fairly bearable.

Hope all are well,

John and Kristian




Advertisement



Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb