Oxford


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
March 30th 2009
Published: March 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bodleian LibraryBodleian LibraryBodleian Library

This is the reading room or 'camera' of the Bodleian Library.
I am taking a class for study abroad students called British Life and Culture. We get to take field trips to historic and cultural sites in England. Unfortunately then we have to write an essay about it.
So recently, I went to Oxford with this class. I really enjoyed Oxford. It was a sleepy little academic town in a very pretty and green part of England. Oxford University is the oldest University in the English-speaking world so needless to say there were lots of ancient buildings. Some of the colleges at Oxford do allow visitors but the day we were there, they were all closed. sadly. There was a graduation ceremony happening that day for one of the colleges so there were lots of young men and women in caps and gowns along with their families wandering busily up and down the tiny streets.
I was decently impressed with the many old and beautiful buildings until we got to Christ Church College. Then I was downright excited! I found myself in an entrance hall that felt strangely familiar and a few seconds later I realized why. The dining hall, entrance hall and courtyard at Christ Church were used in the filming of the Harry Potter movies. I was as close as I will ever get (since I'm a muggle) to Hogwarts castle. So I wrote my essay about Harry Potter. =)


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

St. Mary's from the choir loftSt. Mary's from the choir loft
St. Mary's from the choir loft

The group of people at the front are musicians rehearsing for a concert that was that night.
Headmaster's ApartmentsHeadmaster's Apartments
Headmaster's Apartments

Our class on the medieval street leading to the Headmaster's Apartments
Awesome TreeAwesome Tree
Awesome Tree

This tree appears to be growing as part of the building. I'm told it's most impressive in the fall when its leaves are red. Unfortunately it's winter.
Christ Church Entrance HallChrist Church Entrance Hall
Christ Church Entrance Hall

This staircase was actually used for HP filming.
Christ Church Dining HallChrist Church Dining Hall
Christ Church Dining Hall

This dining hall was the model for the replica built for the filming of the Harry Potter movies.
Christ Church CourtyardChrist Church Courtyard
Christ Church Courtyard

Also used for HP filming
Christ Church ChapelChrist Church Chapel
Christ Church Chapel

This 'chapel' was the biggest church I have yet seen in this country.


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0138s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb