First full day at Oxford


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
July 26th 2008
Published: July 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Magdalen StreetMagdalen StreetMagdalen Street

There was an old cemetery here.. right in the middle of a bustling little city...
I don't think I'm in Markham anymore

I woke up at about 9am and realized I wasn't in Markham anymore - my bed was smaller and my room significantly bigger and more importantly, CLEANER.

Called up the girls - Chriselle, and knocked THREE times on Celia's door til she finally woke up =)

Allison, Celia, Chriselle and I then headed off to our first full day in England. Many fell asleep at 7pm the night before and woke up @ 4am. I'm glad that didn't happen to me - I really think my jet-lag problem is a non-event at this point.

First stop - Sainsbury - A grocery store; the damage £4.80 - for:

Juice
2 packs of Snack a Jack's (similar to Quaker rice crisps)
Peanut butter
crackers
a DairyMilk fudge bar

The best score was definitely the juice - £0.16 for a litre!, a close second was my chocolate for £0.15 =)

Walked around some more, and of course took pictures!! - ran into Coco at the residence - then headed off to lunch.

Next stop - Lunch @ O'neills - a bar/pub type place

Fish and Chips and a pint of Smithwicks

We chatted, got to know each other better. We really all get along, it worked out really well, because we're all clicking like crazy.

Walked around some more - ran into Talky McTalkTalk (this girl who was on the bus with us and would NOT stop talking - I had to find my Ipod to drown her out!!!!!!)

Walked around some more - with all this walking around, I better lose some weight, yo!

Next stop - Coffee @ The Buttery

We sat there for about two hours, just chatting away about everything, under the blazing hot sun (I know, SUN -- ENGLAND? Who knew? But the weather has been really good for the last two afternoons, let's hope it lasts)

It's about 7:40pm here, and we're just resting up until tonite - and so I'm blogging about today.

And here's the photo evidence, ENJOY!

Love and miss you all.











Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Died in 1843Died in 1843
Died in 1843

at the age of 2 yrs
Hotel RandolphHotel Randolph
Hotel Randolph

I took it mainly for the signal lights..
The Ashmolean MuseumThe Ashmolean Museum
The Ashmolean Museum

Apparently its free to get in here..
One of the cars..One of the cars..
One of the cars..

Sorry it's blurry, I'm clearly slow, and my reflexes are unlike any cat you know..
WestGate shopping centreWestGate shopping centre
WestGate shopping centre

their shopping centres are really small here. I think mainly because there's not much space. Even the sidewalks are small -- we pretty much have to walk single file..
Duh.Duh.
Duh.

They are big on pies, here. If this doesn't strike you as pretty funny, then we shouldn't know each other.
Lincoln CollegeLincoln College
Lincoln College

One of the other colleges. They are very keen on keeping their lawns nice here. Don't say &*&*(& about the lawns.
It's a bicycle town. It's a bicycle town.
It's a bicycle town.

Pedestrians and bicycles. and buses too. How many bikes can you count? Toronto ain't got NOTHIN' on Oxford.


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb