Theology at Oxford


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
September 3rd 2007
Published: September 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I did my "long run" (12 miles) this morning, back up to do the trails at the park then down into the town.

After my run I walked into the town centre (about 45 minutes), and I got thinking about the other night when I asked Mac if he had a favourite football team. He had replied, "No, I prefer to stay alive". How true. I'm not sure if I'm just noticing it more or if it's really worse, but all the sectarian attitudes hovering around football up in Scotland just seem so much more pronounced lately.

Oh, and I actually forgot to mention that I ran into Mac in Edinburgh the morning we left to drive down here to Oxford (Scotland is really quite a small place!). He didn't have to drive the van, only lead the tour that morning, so he was quite happy to be starting out completely hung over. ("Do I look it?" he casually asked me.)

I met up with Jacob this afternoon and we headed to Oriel College. The conference's theme is Human Persons and the God of Nature. It's actually a little smaller than I thought it would be, maybe like 100 people or so. Anyways, the conference lasted until at least 10 at night, it was *so* exciting to be in a room full of insanely smart people talking about lofty theological concepts!!

Walked back to the house, by then it had to be like 11 at night. Claire was just heading to bed, so I started spewing out everything I had learned that day at the conference. Hopefully I didn't keep her up too late with theology!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb