Farewell to Oxford


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
December 8th 2006
Published: December 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today marks the end of my time here in Oxford. I've been away from home for exactly 100 days. I've made countless friends, taken a bazillion pictures, made memories to last a lifetime, and had the time of my life. But now comes the hardest part of all: saying goodbye.

It's Friday morning and while most people don't leave until tomorrow morning, some have already left. Just this morning I had to say goodbye to both of my roommates, Liz and Cate. They are both going to Scotland today, upon which Liz returns to the states on Tuesday while Cate will be traveling around Europe since she is coming back to Oxford in January. Saying goodbye to them was one of the hardest things I've ever had to do. Sure, we'll keep in touch. Yeah, we'll visit each other in the Spring. Or, we'll try to at least. I'm not saying it isn't going to happen, but in all honesty, it's really difficult. I mean, I haven't seen my friend Kate Hand since senior year of high school when she came to visit me. But, we still talk every once in a while and when we talk, we talk about possible visits. Life is so busy though sometimes and it is hard. I'm trying not to get my hopes up for a visit because I really don't want to be disappointed when a visit doesn't work out.

Look at me!! I'm being so pessimistic. I know I don't have to be jumping for joy at the thought of saying goodbye, but I don't have to be so depressing either. Gosh, Megan.

(I promise, I'm not talking to myself...)

Well, so, Oxford is getting to me. I really do want to home. I'll be in San Francisco in 38 hours...gosh that is a lot of time left. 11 hours and 13 minutes on a plane is one thing I am definitely NOT looking forward to, especially if I get stuck in a middle seat again.

So, here goes me trying to say goodbye to this city, this life, this term, and all of these people. I hope I can keep in touch well with emails, phone calls, and the wonder that is facebook. It's going to be hard, but I'm strong and I can do it. And I will.

I love you all and I'll be seeing you...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb