Henley Royal Regatta


Advertisement
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After unpacking a little bit we ventured out into Henley to look for John. He won his races this morning which means that he'll receive a shield instead of a trophy. He took us for a walk along the Thames and showed us around the regatta. It wasn't very crowded today but tomorrow is supposed to be much busier.

I split up from the group to go see Dusty Springfield's grave (see photos). The church is really beautiful and so far I'm loving Henley. It is apparently unseasonably warm right now but it's nothing compared to the Oklahoma heat. Still, I'm feeling pretty hot and tired after walking around for a few hours.

Lots of photos in this entry. Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



30th June 2009

The Look of Love is in Yall's Eyes
Hey, Dusty must be inspiring all of you because we see that radiant look in your eyes. Thanks for all the great pictures and for sharing the fun with those of us who are left behind in Midland, Texas. The Henley experience looks pretty dreamy. I read about some of the fun games on the link Jen sent. Trying to fill in the missing six hours was hilarious. I need help with that even when I am NOT drinking. Maggie had an exciting morning. She covered a cooking class for the Midland Reporter Telegram. She now knows how to make cheesy jalapeno bites and can make a watermelon look like Moby Dick. To her amazement she nodded off during the class and when she woke she thought to herself that she hopes she never ends up actually enrolled in something like that. My day was much more exciting. I did my usual communion prayer service at the nursing home and one of the residents tipped me TWO DOLLARS. Can you believe that? Maggie says I should have told the woman that I was not into that whole indulgences thing, but I am seriously considering putting a tip jar on the altar. Mother is feeling fine and even came with me to the nursing home. She wants to split the TWO DOLLARS. I have to think about that. Congratulations John on your success!! We prayed for you at the nursing home this morning, so you might want to send me money, too. We are excited about your new shield and can't imagine all the fun you are going to have with that at the next Renaissance Fair. We loved all the pictures and are hoping to see some pictures of Allie in the next batch. I am willing to pay for this request.
1st July 2009

Great Job
John we are very happy for you. We think you did a excelent job. Bonnie said Caroline was so excited for you she thought she was going to jump thru the phone. Allie the pictures and this blog is very nice. You are a good reporter. Thanks for letting us here know what is going on. Youall have fun. OK Mike

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0953s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb