First Weekend


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Charlbury
January 23rd 2011
Published: January 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Roof!Roof!Roof!

(Left to right) Mark, Mareika, Jenina, and I sitting on the roof at the Church

HOLLA


This weekend was pretty sweet.
We had Drama practice on Friday. We sat around and read various parts of a version of Pride and Prejudice adapted for the stage. We haven't received our parts yet but we should soon. After we did drama, my team made lunch for the group. I put the salad in a bowl... Whereas Hannah made pasta along with garlic cream sauce from scratch. Go Hannah. It was yummy. Then we were going to go into Oxford and go shopping, but the attendent wasn't at the train station and we were afraid of the ticket machines. So, instead we jumped a fence into a field with sheep and took pictures. There were also angry looking horses. They we took some picture on the cute bridge. Next we went back to the church and just studied and read (and chatted of course). A few of us found out that the window upstairs opens so you can go onto the roof! we were psyched. After all that a few of us stayed late and watched the movie 127 Hours on someone's laptop. So good.
We decided to go shopping on Saturday instead. We went to Primark and bought
FenceFenceFence

I am climbing over the fence back onto the street after visiting the sheep hehe
a bagillion things. Remind me not to go there anymore. It would make me poor. After shopping, we grabbed some sandwiches and Evan met up with us (he wanted to avoid the shopping). We made out way to the Ashmolean museum. We got confused by the lockers and had to ask an attendent. He was real nice about it. We felt touristy and embarassed hehe. I was so tired from being on my feet all day at this point so I didn't properly enjoy it. I was also SUPER disappointed that the Egyptian exhibit is closed until November! When we came back to Charlbury, Evan and I had Spaghetti and ice cream for dessert. YUM.
Today is Sunday. We went to Church at the baptist Church. The congregation is quite small! It was nice though. After that we had a progressive lunch! This is where you go to different people's homes for different courses! It was fun. We were spilt into two groups that kind of switched up each time. At the end we all met up at Marion's for tea. Lovely, I say. This took a long time and i was so full that I didn't eat supper. (I
SHEEPSHEEPSHEEP

Hello there sheepy.
did however eat more of that ice cream.. eeps! And also an orange though so it's okay.) Then I finished up reading Shakespeare's the Merry Wives of Windsor for tomorrow's class. Tomorrow we only have one class and then study time! weee. And Tuesday's class got switched to Friday so now we have a free day! Yay!
I think I will have a shower in a minute.
Cheers!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

wee!wee!
wee!

Us ladies with our Primark bags outside the Ashmolean.
Outside the AshmoleanOutside the Ashmolean
Outside the Ashmolean

Me and Evan awwww
AshmoleanAshmolean
Ashmolean

The entrance. Nice columns eh?
Post shoppingPost shopping
Post shopping

Holla, I'm sporting some of my new goods.


24th January 2011

Go Girl
Just wanted to let you know that we will be following your blog and look forward to hearing about your adventures in England. Be safe and have a blast. Your neighbours The Benjamins
30th January 2011

Go Girl 2.......
Hey Beth, Donalda just showed me your blog....looks like you are having a great time (I'm jealous)....I've always wanted to see some of the great museums and historical places in jolly old England. Take care, I can wait to see more of your adventures. Cuz Janice

Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb