Hamsterley Forest


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Northumberland
June 18th 2006
Published: June 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Weather Report

Well it started off mediocre, deteriorated by mid-afternoon and by late afternoon the rain, wind and low temperature would have done justice to winter. Really miserable.

Decamped and set off from Barnard Castle shortly after 8am. Made for Hamsterley Forest and took some photographs in that area. Then came the nearest I have been to an accident. Fortunately descending a winding hill at snails pace I came around a blind bend to find a vintage car coming towards me on my side of the road with horse and rider on the far side. The vc and I managed to come to a halt separated by a whisker of paint. Could not really blame the former as horses always cause a problem on winding roads. The rider gave a sheepish grin - fortunately she could not read my thoughts.

Continued on towards Blanchland but the weather was so poor with incessant rain that I finally gave up doing any real work and simply wandered through Northumberland which felt very much like returning to my roots. Drove past the school where I used to teach and then on to the house in the Newcastle suburbs where I lived for many years.

Found my way onto the A1 and then turned off and made my way to Ulgham where mother used to live. You would not be impressed by the state of the once pristine garden. Then onto Amble where I lived for ten years. Town looked little different although there were some subtle changes such as the Co-op seems to have taken over more of Queen Street and Lawrences no longer have a shop in High Street. Otherwise place much as I left it.

Continued on to the campsite at Beadnell. By the time I had been directed to my pitch the sky was looking ominous and within minutes heavy drizzle had set in with a gusting wind. Not ideal conditions for pitching a tent. Tested my humour - not something that ever passed a test. Eventually sorted, cooked dinner and felt better. Spent remainder of the evening sat on chair in sleeping bag listening to football while looking out at the gloomy conditions. From my pitch I can just about see the sea which is the other side of the road to Seahouses. Fortunately I am a little way back from the road so any traffic should not disturb ...

Goodnight ....


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb