Mum


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Northamptonshire
October 21st 2012
Published: January 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

(by Mark)

The return to the UK should have been a time of happiness, catching up and enjoying company with family and close friends. Unfortunately, as I'm sure most are aware, it was not the return we expected.

On 21st of October my Mum passed away peacefully in Cransley Hospice, Kettering. She'd been unwell for a while, but nothing that was diagnosed as or thought of as anything serious. She went for a scan two weeks before this at Kettering hospital and was admitted, diagnosed with a brain tumour, not to return home.

It was a massive shock for both her family and friends. The suddenness left an air of disbelief about what was happening. Right to near the end she was chatting with and texting friends, still planning for the future. I am so grateful that I was back home on a routine visit (coincidence or fate?) and was able to spend some time with her before this happened. We enjoyed a day at Towcester races, where she picked a couple of winners, and spoke about travel memories & photos - as well as what had been happening at home.

The funeral was very tough, but the service was a fitting tribute and it was great to have so many of her family and friends there - some that I'd never previously had the opportunity to meet. I'd like to thank the friends, family and local villagers for their well wishes, support, cakes & food parcels - we found the number of cards received and the messages inside quite overwhelming.

After the funeral Dad, Tina and I headed up to Yorkshire to appreciate as good a scenery and food as we'd had all year - even if the weather wasn't quite the best we'd had. We eventually decided to continue our travels & bade an emotional farewell to Dad, having been assured he had plenty of support in place.

I will always be grateful for all of the love and support that Mum gave to me - from watching me play cricket to helping me through difficult times. She always wanted what was best for me and was always proud of me. I'm so pleased that in recent years I really began to appreciate her more and got as close to her as I'd ever been. These difficult times have also brought me much closer to Jane - something Mum would be very pleased about (although probably frustrated that it took this to make that happen!)

On our return, the family have a number of fundraising activities planned, to raise money for some relevant charities. These include a quiz night organised with the cricket club, a family sponsored mountain climb and a dinner/dance night at the Old village hall. I'm sure we can count on support of family and friends for these - we'll be in touch with details nearer the time.

I really hope that we'll be able to raise further funds for the charities below

Homestart Kettering - http://www.homestartkettering.org.uk/ -

Mum was both a trustee and volunteer support worker at this local charity working with families having difficulty with young children.

Cransley Hospice - http://www.cransleyhospice.org.uk/ -

The care given to Mum in her final days here was absolutely first rate. A local organisation that does a difficult job exceptionally well.

Cancer Research - http://www.cancerresearchuk.org/home/ -

Self-explanatory - nearly every family is touched by cancer & this organisation is helping to research new treatments.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb