Overland 5 is on the road again


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Northamptonshire » Thrapston
February 28th 2011
Published: February 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


My departure date of March 27th is looming fast, Portsmouth to Bilbao on Brittany Ferries. The situation in NE Africa only leaves the West Coast route viable. So a short stay in Spain and Portugal then over to Morocco and SOUTH. Overland 5 was the name of a bus trip ( Double decker of course) by 5 Englishmen in 1970.This bus is still in use just South of Auckland NZ.
I am no stranger to Africa having now been to Niger some 8 times in the past 2 years. But this trip I aim to encompass a longer stay in the village I sponsor and achieve a meaningful change in their lives by the introduction of an irrigation system - see www.signiger.org.
My Landrover 110 is now prepped and ready for the long trip ahead. After the Niger project I intend to head South East through Chad with the aim of reaching OZ by Christmas 2011. I invite friends to join me en route this will be posted later this week with indicative dates for planning.
I will have a Sat phone with me , Pete Howick will update the blog page with route using the GPS facility on the Thuraya phone.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb