Yorkshire Dales


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire » Pateley Bridge
November 2nd 2018
Published: November 3rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Another travel tool: searching for “self-catering” cottages (similar to VRBO) led me to this delightful little rental in the charming village of Pateley Bridge. It has an award winning High Street, full of shops and tea rooms, and is nestled in a river valley with cut-velvet green draped over the surrounding hills. Of all of the places I’ve rambled on this trip, Wales and Yorkshire are standouts!

Determined not to drive any more (I don’t get to see the scenery when I’m white-knuckling around every turn), I’m now either in transit or on foot. That’s all well and good, but in this burg, there‘s only one regular bus in and out, and it makes just seven trips per day, to/from Harrogate (which is 14 miles away, but because there are FIFTY-EIGHT potential stops, the trip takes an hour each way...)

There is a special Thursday bus, which goes to the city (it has a cathedra) of Ripon - 16 miles (and another hour) away. You can bet I had money in hand for that yesterday, when the neatest thing happened. Residents travel free, and my new friends (formed in queue) convinced the bus driver that I qualified, since I’m
Pateley Bridge High StreetPateley Bridge High StreetPateley Bridge High Street

This town won a national award last year for having the best combination of shops/choices for its size.
here for a week... Saved me £9!

It was Market Day in Ripon, so we all got some shopping done. I also visited the Workhouse Museum and the cathedral, as illustrated in my photos. Note the abundance of Remembrance Poppies (“Lest We Forget” those who fought and died for our freedoms) - it’s almost a competition to decorate with the most poppies all over the country, leading up to Nov. 11.

I capitalized on today’s sun by taking a walk along the River Nidd over to the next town, Glasshouses. The sun and the scenery were glorious, and I managed to walk 13K steps, justification for the espresso ice cream I had when I got back....


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Stile in stone wall Stile in stone wall
Stile in stone wall

Pateley/ Bridgegate
Pateley Bridge MuseumPateley Bridge Museum
Pateley Bridge Museum

Pharmacist fill order
On a free rideOn a free ride
On a free ride

Bus to Ripon
Workhouse MuseumWorkhouse Museum
Workhouse Museum

The life in the workhouse was severe, but people were fed, clean, safe, and medically treated. Children were separated from family, but educated/trained. Adults could come/go at will, looking for work to help them move out of the workhouse.
Welch rarebit Welch rarebit
Welch rarebit

Basically, melted cheese on toast. Fabulous onion “jam”!


3rd November 2018

Love these! Keep them coming!
Looks and sounds like you are having a grand time! So happy for you.
3rd November 2018

Thanks, Warren!
It’s been a grand trip so far, and fun to write about it... ?

Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb