Here I go Again (Not) On My Own


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire » Harrogate
May 29th 2018
Saved: October 18th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Going down the only road I've ever known - but enough with the Whitesnake references. Where to start, how to begin. Certainly a lot has transpired during these past 5 years since I returned home. Many trips - Mexico, Europe, The States - I've been around. But now here I find myself on a whole new adventure, a new challenge, and probably the most important chapter in my life to date. The short version is I am now for the first time LIVING abroad, which I am learning is a 180 flip from traveling abroad. The long version is how I came to be here (which I am not going into here), and here is a small hamlet in North Yorkshire called Harrogate in the United Kingdom. No longer just me, but me and my beautiful wife. Indeed, much has changed.

This new series of blogs will evolve I'm sure as I go along and my writing is sure to start a bit rusty, not that t was ever very polished, but I'll get back up to speed eventually. So the plan - live in England, experience life in a different country, and travel, travel, travel as much as we can in the time off. Europe is at our doorstep and Continent is now our oyster. So, here we go again.

We flew into London direct from Denver. The morning we showed up all the buzz in the city was on the Royal Wedding. Quite the ceremony and all of the English really got a kick out of the American Preacher. Not really their cup of tea I'd imagine. i'd been in London before, this would be my third time, and I was pleased with how I remain completely orientated in the city. Getting around is a breeze and the tube makes exploring the city extremely easy. We took in a few sites and spent a pleasant afternoon at the Camden Town market which I had previously enjoyed 8 or so years ago. Fun stuff. The next day we were off on a train to our new home in Harrogate.

Harrogate is a pretty posh town with a bunch of high end shops and loads of money about town. Lamborghini's, Ferrari's, you know the type. It's also beatifically laid out with massive parks, gardens, and outdoor areas which make strolling about a great way to kill some time. But as soon as we came we had already made plans to spend a Holiday weekend in Wales high in the mountains (if 3,000 is high) in Snowdonia National Park.

Betws-y-Coed was or destination and a three hour drive saw us in a new country in the UK with it's own unique language. With a town named Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch you have zero chance of learning this ancient Gaelic dialect, but interesting nonetheless hearing Welsh being spoken about town. After settling into our B&B (no hostels for me anymore as I'm told) we sen our first day hiking high in the mountians to a peak named Yr Aran. The mountain looks across the valley of Snowdonia to the highest peak in Wales and England - Snowdon. Scores of hikers were in the park scrambling u Snowdon It was nice that we were of the beaten path on the advice of Hugh (who ran the B&B). There are no real rules in the park. They kind of just turn you loose and people scramble up any way they can. A different trek for sure and also pretty spectacular as far as views went.

Second part of the trip was spent exploring Conwy Caste which was constructed back in the 1200s. My first proper castle in the UK and it was great to put my hands on the ancient walls and relive history. Overall a great relaxing weekend in a new and exciting country to be in. We'll do some more exploring next weekend, this time on the Eastern seaboard that was once home to and the birthplace of Dracula lore.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 27; qc: 110; dbt: 0.0912s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb