Home Away from Home


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Merseyside
August 31st 2012
Published: August 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

LondonLondonLondon

The Tower Bridge can be seen -- a bit blurry but it's there, just under the point on the plane's wing. The Tower of London is on the top bank of the Thames to the left of the Tower Bridge.
After a very tiring 2 weeks of long hours at the office, my ride to the airport could not have come soon enough. Everything went smoothly, from beginning to end, with the possible exception of the passenger in the row ahead of me on the flight to London from Toronto. Apparently some people just need to put their arms over the back of their seat in such a way as to completely cover the screen of the passenger behind them...the poor woman next to me had to battle for 6 hours to be able to watch her movie!

By the time I got into the airport van to take me from Manchester to Liverpool I was pretty exhausted, but it was great to see the familiar streets of Liverpool after the short ride down the M62. Slept for a few hours, then walked down to a restaurant I went to the last time I was here for a leisury dinner (Hanover Street Social). Once again Barry has sorted a ticket for me for the Liverpool match on Sunday, so a big thanks to Barry! Looking forward to that, but I wish there was better news coming out of the transfer
LondonLondonLondon

Westminster is on the left bank of the Thames. St Paul's is the white dome on the top bank of the Thames toward the right-hand side of the photo. The big ferris wheel is the London Eye.
window coverage on the BBC....looks like no signings for Liverpool.

Time to call it day and get a good rest so I can wake up tomorrow officially on UK time. I did get some great views of London on the flight in from Toronto, so I will include a couple of those. A lot of the big landmarks -- Westminster, the Tower Bridge, the Tower of London, the London Eye, St. Paul's Cathedral -- can be seen.

Tomorrow I meet up with Barry and drop by some of the usual pubs.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb