Day 26 - Gateacre to Aintree, Liverpool


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Merseyside » Liverpool
August 4th 2006
Published: August 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Dad!Dad!Dad!

He dropped me off back in Gateacre early this morning...

Day 26 - Friday 4th August



Dad dropped me off again in Gateacre (Gattica!) and I started walking along the Trans Pennine Trail through Liverpool. It runs along the route of the old Liverpool Loop Line Railway which was bombed during the war and then turned into a footpath. It is a beautiful tree lined path and despite it being very early I felt quite safe since there was a few people cycling to work or walking their dog along the path. Then I started seeing bits of blue and white “Police Line - Do not cross” tape in the undergrowth and I realized maybe it wasn’t quite as safe as I thought! Then I was faced with a mystery - I started seeing purple rings around bits of blackened tarmac on the ground. At first I thought it was graffiti but then the realization came, as I looked out onto the houses, what the purple marks were. The purple wheelie bins must be really good fun to set light to and they must burn really fiercely to burn the tarmac! I’ll have to try it out when I get back to Aylesbury!

The walk was quite uneventful really,
GraffitiGraffitiGraffiti

Zoom in to read this Graffiti on a bridge in Childwall
apart from the wild Benji dog I met running madly back and forth as a train went underneath the path. Also the route of the walk bought back memories of going to see Nana, four (maybe even five) of us in the back of the car (no seatbelts!) singing “I'm a secret lemonade drinker (Shhh!)” as we went past the old Schweppes factory and then for some reason we also sang “watch out watch out there’s a Humphrey about”!

I got to Aintree and luckily Dad hadn’t gone out combining so he could come and pick me up. I’ve only got 4.5 miles left to do tomorrow and it’s really hard to believe I’ve walked so far. I’ve left the last little bit until Saturday so that my Mum is back home when I arrive. Nearly there!


Todays Stats
Start Time - 7:00am
End Time - 10:30am
Miles today - 9.05 miles
Miles Cumulative - 241.25 miles
Steps Today - 18,281
Steps Cumulative - 489,276
Blisters - 3
Chocolate/Granary Bars - 1
Rain - None
Temp @ Noon - 22c



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

TunnelTunnel
Tunnel

It was quite a long tunnel. Luckily nothing bad jumped out to get me half way through like it would have done in a horror movie!
Purple MarkPurple Mark
Purple Mark

What could have caused this strange mark?
Spot the SolutionSpot the Solution
Spot the Solution

The things that caused the purple marks burnt into the pavement are shown clearly in this photo...
Mad BenjiMad Benji
Mad Benji

The mad dog chasing the train...
Aintree RacecourseAintree Racecourse
Aintree Racecourse

Not far now!
Ormskirk!Ormskirk!
Ormskirk!

The first sign with Ormskirk on... I didn't get the bus - Honest!


9th August 2006

Light at the end of the tunnell!!
Hi Helen Blimey I can't believe you are nearly there. Couldn't you have taken the National Express? Times must be hard for champagne Helen after all that high living. Keep going till the end and look forward to seeing you at Duncan's Blessing. Jules xxx

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb