Liverpool - memories!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Merseyside » Liverpool
July 26th 2006
Published: July 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

In my Liverpool home.
In my Liverpool home.
We speak with an accent exceedingly rare,
If you want a Cathedral we've got one to spare.
In my Liverpool home.

Non English friends, I will sing this to you when I get back


Well as you can tell Im in Liverpool. Its still as rough as ever, some places are worse than before, but you cant beat the scouse humour! I would never live here again but I will always love Liverpool. I have had a brilliant time here, going to some old haunts of mine & my parents.

By the way, we are famous here, we even have bread named after our family....

There were 3 things I really wanted in Liverpool, go to Anfield (ticked), have scouse (ticked) & get curry, rice & chips from the chippy (ticked). You cant beat the curry sauce from the chippies here, its the best.

I went to the Holy Ground on Sunday, Anfield. Home of the greatest football club, Liverpool. I had to do the touristy thing & go on a tour, it brought back some great memories. I had my photo taken in the players change rooms, in front of the great Steven Gerrard's kit, unfortunately my Aunty took it so its a bit blurry. The guide was really good, only a young lad but he knew everything about the club, just aswell.

Went into Liverpool city central to do some shopping, of course. Its that hot here (for the english anyway) the kids were running through the water feature in town to keep cool. By the way, I was in a pub having a beer when I took the photo...

My parents had told me that girls were going out in thier pj's, I didnt believe them until I saw it for myself. Apparently they think its a fashion statement.......not!

Im staying at my cousins near where my parents grew up. Sat night we went to a pub up the road called the Selwyn, Mum & Dad use to go there when they were courting.....would have loved to have gone there with them both.
What a laugh. All my cousins family & friends go there so they just treated me like one of the locals. Had a great night. I went back there on Monday night to say goodbye to them all
Anfield - KOPAnfield - KOPAnfield - KOP

This used to be called the KOP & it was standing room only, mainly men....the stories I have been told about the toilet facilities.....
& ended up staying & having another big night with them all. What a hoot! They are rough as anything but you cant beat the humour. They go to the pub every day. Great atmosphere but I couldnt do it all the time like they do though!

People tend to go to pubs for lunch & dinner over here, whereas we go to restaurants & cafe's back home. When in Rome! I've just been to a great little pub in a suburb called Maghull with my Aunty. Great food. Its my last day here today so I thought I would take her out, I'm off back to Chester later this afternoon

Will be in touch again soon

Take Care everyone

Lots of love
Vicki
xxx










Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Me at Anfield Me at Anfield
Me at Anfield

Excuse the blurriness of this one, my Aunty took it she still cant gt used to digital camera's - she was trying to look through the hole like the old camera's, bless her!
Anfield SignAnfield Sign
Anfield Sign

The players touch this before they go out for every game
Bill ShanklyBill Shankly
Bill Shankly

My Aunty Laura with the famous Bill Shankly, he was a past manager of LFC, one of the best.
Adelphi Hotel - Andrew & I used to work hereAdelphi Hotel - Andrew & I used to work here
Adelphi Hotel - Andrew & I used to work here

Apparently this is now known as the worst hotel in the UK for being robbed....want like that when we worked there!
Liverpool is going to be the European Capital of Culture in 2008Liverpool is going to be the European Capital of Culture in 2008
Liverpool is going to be the European Capital of Culture in 2008

This is in the main city centre - they have signs like this all over the place.


28th July 2006

Hi Lil Icky
Wow I love the look of Liverpool. You sound like you're having a blast. Everytime you call, am in the shower - am hoping to finally catch u soon. Thinking of you heaps and eagerly awaiting your next blog. Take care of you,cxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx The Other Icky
29th July 2006

Query
Hay while your there do you mind going to Man U and getting some piccies too....hehe!! Looks like your having a blast - sooo looking forward to seeing you - let us know what date and time you arrive home!! LOL SnM xxx

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb