Im really going to live in a castle?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lincolnshire » Grantham
August 29th 2013
Published: August 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After 5 hours to the airport, 3 waiting to board the 8.5 hour flight, an hour waiting to board the bus for another 2 hour drive to the manor; all I could think about is when can I sleep. This moment was completely taken away from me when we turned the first bend to see Harlaxton Manor on the hill in the distance. It looked as if I had just stepped onto a movie! I turned from be exhausted into ready to explore this amazing place I get to call home with chills running all over my body.

After the mile drive up the rock path driveway, I reached my new home. Here I was greeted by numerous faculty and staff welcoming me to my new life. We were all lead up a marble staircase with exquisite ceilings and remarkable columns and paintings on the walls. We entered the Great Hall staring at the ceiling and taking everything in with our mouths dropped. Here we were handed our keys and told to explore the castle and most importantly get lost! Harlaxton is filled of amazing Halls and gardens but never forget the secret corridors that will expand the magic of the manor.

We all begin to part ways to find our rooms. I was breathless after walking up the 93 stairs and seeing my amazing dorm room. I enter to see a bunk bed, two single beds, 4 desk, 4 dressers, and the random sink in the room. I immediately grab the first bed in the little nook area and claim it for my own. I then look to see the intricate design on the ceiling in shock. I then hear the bells chiming to signal 1 pm and realize those are a little loud. I walk over to the window only to find the most amazing view from my window. I am located directly underneath the bells with a blocked off balcony that over looks the front grounds of Harlaxton with miles and miles of many British cities across the hills! I am amazed by the beauty of the front that I run downstairs to meet my friends, Danika and Megan, to explore our new home.

We are definitely not at Eastern Illinois University as we begin our exploration of the many extravagant Halls and amazing grounds across the campus! We spent hours exploring and finally it all kicks in that we are in Europe living out some of our biggest dreams finally. Harlaxton Manor has already amazed me and the journey has just begun. I can not even imagine what is next in store for me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



31st August 2013

I can't wait to follow along with your adventures, Katie! It looks amazing! You MUST however, take pictures of some of those secret passageways and corridors....that's just too cool!

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb