England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent
September 12th 2011
Published: September 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

StonehengeStonehengeStonehenge

artfully arranged
England
Saturday
Found my contact / ride and went with him to his car, where we then very promptly went to Stonehenge but only After stopping for a coffee and here I was giggling at myself for my sealegs I had, the world was Not staying still. Then noticed the place we had stopped for coffee at was a Starbucks. Well rock my socks, I just travelled half way around the world and the first place I go to is a Starbucks … for goodness sake. Lmao, the irony.
For all that I wasn’t about to complain, between the spaced out feeling from long haul travelling and the desperately needed coffee – I had caffeine withdrawal symptoms, I would have accepted coffee of even the poorest quality from anywhere.
First lesson in pommyspeak – a coffee with trim milk is called a ‘skinny coffee’ and so I duly noted that as important information.

But wow, that pile of stones is so impressive. There really IS a ‘feel’ to the place (I didn’t expect that) We got there just before 9.30am and there were a few people around but within 10 mins the place was completely over run by people, as
BathBathBath

soap, anyone??
the place opened for visitors at 9.30pm and busses, big busses, lots of them just appeared from nowhere…. which totally ruined the ‘feel’ to the place, so I did the walk around it anyway took a few photos then left.
By now I’m starting to get an idea of the sheer number of people in this place, the road was clogged with cars (next to no trucks … oops ‘lorries’ they are called here, that is such a pleasant change. So we drive on to Bath, looked at the ‘baths’ and that amazing church, wandered about, with my head swiveling about probably much like one of those old fashioned ornamental dogs that once were seen in the back of cars – the ones with the wobbly heads, that wobbled with every bump and turn in the road. Had a pub lunch around about 2pm, as it amused me to do the ‘pommy pub lunch’, this was a bad idea as I also had two rather LARGE glasses of beer with it and completely did myself in, (well that’s my story) tiredness hit with the same shocking surprise as walking into a beautifully polished glass wall. I guess I didn’t do
Yep it's a ChurchYep it's a ChurchYep it's a Church

and impressive too, it is.
too badly, considering how long it was since I’d laid down to a real sleep. So it was back to the place I was staying, the drive back was a bit of a blur even though I was fascinated by the tiny lanes they dare to call roads and the quaint little houses dotted everywhere right ON the road sides, so ended my first day in a strange land.. blotto.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

playing bowl in Bathplaying bowl in Bath
playing bowl in Bath

and a very lovely music he was producing too
stained glass windowsstained glass windows
stained glass windows

People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb