Job Hunting and Other Ideas for My Future


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hertfordshire » Saint Albans
January 7th 2009
Published: February 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Where I've investigated job opportunities in the last two days:
1) Metro School System in Nashville, Tennessee
2) Rutherford County Schools in Murfreesboro, Tennessee
3) The TES.com site, where school vacancies throughout the UK are posted regularly.

Current problems with switching jobs:
1) My visa legally binds me to my current school. To work anywhere else requires a new visa.
2) If another school wants to sponsor my visa, it will cost me only $450 USD, plus a plane ticket home to wait for the visa.
3) However, the only schools that need to sponsor a foreign teacher are schools that are so horrible that they can't find anyone who wants to work there. These are also the schools who get agencies to find teachers for them. Again, because no one wants to work there.
4) Therefore, if a school wants to sponsor me, I don't trust it. Why are they so desperate? I don't want another nightmare school, especially not if I have to pay over $450 to make the change. I might as well just stay in this hell-hole and save my time and money. If the school has to hire an agency, I double-don't trust it!
5) And I REALLY don't trust agencies! They will say whatever it takes to get you in a job so they can get their damn money.

Other ideas for what to do in the next year:
1) Go to graduate school for library studies. Yes, I want to be a librarian. This yields a couple more questions: should I go to grad school here in London where it's cheaper? or do I go to Middle Tennessee State University where I'm more familiar with the system and more likely to get a job right out of graduate school?
2) JOIN THE UNITED STATES PEACE CORPS. Not entirely random, people. I've been interested in the Peace Corps for at least a year. One day, I will do it. I just need to find the right time. It takes about a year to complete the application process, so even if I applied today, I couldn't leave until January 2010.

My most fervent prayer:
Please, God, more than anything, I want You to use me for Your higher purpose. I want to be used for the greater good. Teach me what you want me to learn. Help me to surrender to my present situation and learn from it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.097s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb