Acupuncture & Chinese Medicine


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hertfordshire » Saint Albans
October 7th 2008
Published: October 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today, I have an appointment to see a Chinese doctor in the town centre. My problem? I've had increasing acne (although everyone tells me they don't even notice, I certainly notice!), and I'm constantly shedding hair. Plus, I've got that thyroid issue for which I'm still taking my new-fangled Western prescription. I believe quite strongly in Eastern medicine, because it's more natural and it's worked for thousands of years.

The shop is tiny with jars of herbs lining the walls behind the front desk. Posters on the walls show a anatomical diagram of a male and female body with all the muscles and nerves labeled in Chinese.

The doctor is a small, pretty, pregnant Chinese lady. I like her right away. When I explain the reason for my appointment, she asks all kinds of questions that are seemingly unrelated:
*How well do I sleep at night?
*Do my knees hurt?
*Do I feel fatigued during the day?
*Do I have constipation?
*How is my hearing?

And finally she asks me to stick out my tongue. "Mmm," she nods. "Your yin and yang are out of balance. Too much yin."

I knew I was out of balance. That's why I divorced my husband. That's why I fell for an emotionally unavailable man. That's why I lost my job in Tennessee. That's why I've moved across the ocean. That's why I can't be in a serious relationship with a man right now. All these things, all these choices I've made in the last 2 years are because I'm trying to find my balance. (Aren't we all?) I enjoy the journey and I'm getting closer. "So what do I do?"

"All of your conditions are related. They are linked. Therefore, you have only one condition. We fix it, you are cured of all this. In Chinese medicine, we say that your liver and spleen are too young. I can give you an herb mixture that I will create specifically tailored to your condition. It will help your liver and spleen 'grow up'. In western medicine, it is simply your immune system. It is too weak. Acupuncture will also help get the chi flowing through your body to restore balance and strengthen your immune system."

So we go upstairs into a little room with a massage table. She asks me to use the restroom and change into a little towel-dress thing before we begin. I'm all ready and lying on the table when she returns. She rubs down certain parts of my face, arms, legs, feet, hands, and upper chest with rubbing alcohol.

Then, she begins to put the needles in, starting with my feet. I'm not sure how she does it, because I had my eyes closed and I was too scared to move. But it sounds like she uses some kind of rubber band to snap the needle in really fast. She's working her way up my body, asking me more questions, too. How is my sex drive? Do I eat a lot of seafood? How is my mind during the day? Does my mind get rest or am I constantly thinking?

She's putting needles into my face, very carefully selecting the exact spot. It's not as painful as it sounds, but I wouldn't say it's entirely comfortable either. Just a slight prickle. But the main discomfort is the heat it inspires inside the body. The insides of my feet and lower legs are very hot. Not in a sweaty kind of way; that's too external. I feel energy inside my body. Internally, it feels like there's a soft fire. She says, "That's the chi flowing."

She even inserts a couple of needles into the top of my head.

"Now I will leave you for 25 minutes. If you need me, push this button and I will come." She leaves. A small stereo softly plays Chinese flute music, which makes me think of Buddhist monks. I lie there, trying to meditate. Then I try to fall asleep. But I'm too uncomfortable. My feet are so HOT inside! It's the weirdest thing. Why isn't the rest of my body getting this hot? I can feel all the needles. It isn't pain. Just discomfort, like wearing an itchy sweater.

She returns and asks if I fell asleep, and I laugh, "I tried, but I was too uncomfortable." She laughs and nods as she slowly removes the needles. Even when they are gone, my feet are still hot.

I change back into my clothes and head downstairs. She gives me the herbs and instructions on how to make the tea. (It takes almost an HOUR to make!) I need to drink one cup in the morning and one at night every day for a week. "Don't eat seafood for a few months. Or lamb. Stick to pork and chicken." She smiles, "You will sleep well tonight."

Once I'm home, I follow her instructions for the tea. It tastes absolutely DISGUSTING! But I drink it anyway. This better be worth it, I think.

As I crawl into bed, I know I'll sleep well. My feet feel normal again, but I can't shake the heightened awareness that they're there. Like I've suddenly realized that I have feet.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0986s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb