St. Albans Market


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hertfordshire » Saint Albans
October 4th 2008
Published: October 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

St. Albans MarketSt. Albans MarketSt. Albans Market

Saturday morning on St. Peter's Street.
The Saturday morning market in St. Albans seems so old-fashioned. Vendors set up tents with tables selling fresh fruit, veggies, dresses, shoes, hats, and scarves. Some sell paintings, books, old record albums, and flowers. I see blankets, carpet, toys, CDs,...basically anything you need. Some food carts are parked in the middle of the road, like those burrito and taco carts in Nashville. Except these have menus with lamb kebabs, curry, and fish & chips. It smells wonderful!

I walk down the street, looking at all the tables. The food is so cheap! A big bunch of grapes for only one pound! People are packed into the street like I've never seen in St. Albans. Apparently, though, this happens every Saturday. I'm looking for a bike, because when I get off the train every morning to go to work, I have to walk 30 minutes from Leagrave Station to my school. I've been told that I can buy a bike at the Saturday market.

I discover, through asking around, that the guy who sells the bikes is "on holiday." Figures. I guess I'll have to go another week without a bike.

I walk home without buying anything, and I crawl into bed with my book. A lazy day this will be. I'm aching to go into London, but I'll restrain myself. The train ticket costs 17 pounds everytime I go, plus I wind up spending money on something while I'm there.

Thus begins my London diet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

St. Albans MarketSt. Albans Market
St. Albans Market

You can buy anything here!
St. Albans MarketSt. Albans Market
St. Albans Market

From Victoria Street, facing St. Peter's Street.


Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 44; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb