Preparations for my next adventure


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Portsmouth
October 18th 2012
Published: January 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

With less than 5 months to go now until I embark on my journey around the world, preparations are now well underway with one bicycle (Thorn) purchased, numerous amounts of camping gear bought that will hopefully last the rigours of the bike ride and lots of route planning taking place during the long autumn evenings.

As well as all the administrative preparation, I am of course having to prepare myself physically for the challenge ahead. Having spent the past three years leading a rather sedentary life, this has been more challenging than anything else. Everytime I appear to reach a new level of fitness, I come down with a cold or some type of man flu! Thank goodness I have a good bunch of friends, namely Joe, Neil and Mark who drag me on runs along Southsea seafront or invite me to a session of Bodypump at Fitness First. Then there is of course Southsea Fitness on the common run by Kevin Green, where the vigorous exercise routines are teaching me about muscles I never realised I had.

All in all this preparation period is allowing me to divorce myself from the previous 2.5 years of intense flying and now concentrate on fulfilling my dream of seeing the four corners of the globe, taking in different cultures and being privvy to some amazing sights and experiences.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb