The Littl'est Hobo Can't Be Lassie Too


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Fleet
November 18th 2007
Published: November 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Oh fuck off....Oh fuck off....Oh fuck off....

The Church's advice
I almost forgot to to this week's entry in OneHorseTown-Loaferville which must be a sign of something, since that's never happened, but I dunno what. It's been a pretty rough week since I've been sick, it got very cold suddenly and everything became harder. Boo fucking hoo eh. I had to take Friday off work because I was too ill. I didn't like doing that - now I'll have to work a Monday to make the day up. Anyway, now I'm sat in front of a computer on a Sunday evening with my foot in bandages and a deadline to meet for freelance, it seemed a perfectly obvious time to cry that off and write it.

Hmm, what's to report. I 'spose my mood's a bit crap right now. I feel like I'm trying to squeeze back into a life I used to find so easy that I don't neccessarily fit into anymore. I know when you come back from travelling they say you find you've changed and stuff, and you need time to adjust. I thought that was a load of shite designed to make gap yearists feel better about having to work in Morrison's for a couple of months before going to university. But it's true. Some aspects of my life are still alarmingly the same, though here they don't work for me. For the last three weeks I stayed at my friend Becki's house in her spare room, for free, while I got back on my feet and worked this temp job I have as a 'project consultant'. I had my own room which was great, but I only noticed when I moved out that the bag I was living out of was pushed against the wall near the door, and my travel alarm clock was perched on a Rough Guide next to my bed. Which is exactly the same way I lived in every room I stayed in on my trip. Those are only two small examples of how I've managed to replicate or carry over road life into real life. I didn't mean to. It just happened. I mean, I'm living in other people's houses right now, which is travelling of sorts. It's fine when you're not obliged to work and when it's summer. But I am obliged to work (two jobs in fact, one day job, one freelance after work) and it's definitely a very, very cold winter now. It isn't fun to live like this. It's unsettled in a life which needs some sort of settled-ness in order to make good on the things I need to do. Now that my time at Becki's is up I was left on Friday not knowing where I would stay for the rest of the year. Luckily, Sonia offered her couch for next week. So I have a place, but I'm taking up Sonia's living room. But that's only a week. So I'm living exactly like I'm still on the road. But I know I'm not. And it's beginning to wear thin. So I've started looking for short term lets over christmas and January that are dirt cheap; it's a bit scary since my income isn't guaranteed right now. But if I had one room where I could leave my stuff, where I can hang out on my own, not have to feel bad about encroaching on someone else's hard-earned space, that would give me time to think, to plan, to try and get back into the things I have to do with more energy.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb