day 3


Advertisement
Published: May 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

65daysofstatic65daysofstatic65daysofstatic

a pic of last nights band in action but not taken by me or from last night
Start of day three and I don't think I have achieved much so far.

The accommodation side of things looks slightly promising with a few nice places online but I'm yet to hear back from to arrange to look at the rooms. The place that sounds the best is a small room in a flat just around the corner from my hostel, the location is great so hopefully I hear back from them soon.

Not so confident about the work front, it seems most of the retail jobs are full time jobs which really wouldn't suit my desire to take frequent trips to the mainland.

Looks like I will have to compromise on the hours front or look for temp work in an office. Still its only early days, will look at signing up with a temp agency soon and will try to look for some more casual retail jobs.

Onto more fun things and the first of what will surely be manner posts about strange bands so sorry in advance! Last night I went to the Manchester Academy which is basically just a uni pub to see 65daysofstatic, a really cool band I've liked for a while now, kinda like an industrial sounding sample heavy rock band. The and use a lot of samples, but their laptop crashed twice during the performance which rendered the band unable to play (have they heard that most bands just playing guitars/drums and don’t need fancy computers???) still it was a great gig

well its far too early to be online, its drizzling a little(i have to find strange places to get my free wireless internet) and im hungry and its time to get some breakfast

let me know whats happening back home

pete

PS Maria - short mac with one? I hope you have a coffee in my honour today, I think I will get myself a coffee and muffin as well today, will be my first coffee since Monday - see it was only work that made made me a caffeine addict!


Advertisement



11th May 2007

Actually I did have a short mac with one today!!
Seriously, I did....wasn't the same though. Didn't think it would take you long.
11th May 2007

wel im sure it was better than my latte from some dodgy shop, manchester seemslacking in good cafes, there re heaps of stabucks (yuk) and other chains like nero and costa, and lot of sit down cafes but not many places like alda's, caffissimo, cinos etc. oh well imsure i will find a good caf sooner or later, im kinda liking not beng a caffeine junky!

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb